We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pellegrue, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rhonda R
Warner, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 August 2018 for a stay in April 2016

I have been remiss in not posting a review sooner. We had the most wonderful stay here at this perfect gite with such delightful hosts. Great swimming pool, vine covered terrace and fresh modern accommodations. Located with an easy drive to Bordeaux but don't miss all the small surrounding villages. We ate our way through the area and was never disappointed! I look forward to returning within the next year.
I infrequently say"I could live here" when traveling but I did in Pellegrue!

Date of stay: April 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Aug 2018
Thank you Rhonda for your lovely comments, which are all the more appreciated since your visit was back in April 2016.
It is valuable knowing that the good selection of restaurants in the area do not disappoint!
It would certainly bring us great pleasure to see you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnerbea...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway with superb hosts”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

So peaceful watching the sun set over the vineyards after a dip in the pool and dinner on the terrace. Philippe and Pippa are fantastic hosts, who go out of the way to make your stay a memorable one. This is a great base for Bordeaux, Les Landes, the coast, the Dordogne and the endless vineyards, yet hidden away from the tourist masses.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Jul 2018
Thank you for booking with us Neil and for your valuable comments in the review. We hope to see you again if you should return to see more of the area and what it offers for family holidays. Best wishes to you all,
Pippa and Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Anderlecht, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best!!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Les Cypres has to be one of our best holiday rentals! Pippa and Philippe have created a lovely and unique property attached to their own house. The location affords total privacy with uninterrupted views of woods and vineyards. The accommodation served our family of four very well (two adults and two teenagers 15 + 16) and had everything we needed for a week away from home, from a well equipped kitchen to games, internet... If we'd known it was this good then we'd have stayed for two weeks! Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for your positive comments, they are much appreciated.
We are pleased to know that the accomodation and the way it is set, provided everything for a family of four.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Squamish, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful getaway, and a good base for exploring a beautiful, diverse area.”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We are a family of three, two adults and a 'tween girl, and this was our first time in this part of France. We had a wonderful time staying at Les Cypres, exploring the countryside from Baynac to the Dune of Pilat, and visiting Bordeaux and St. Emilion.

Pippa and Philippe are perfect hosts: Warm and welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful, available yet not intrusive. Above all else we appreciate their kindness and hospitality.

It is a beautiful gite. We enjoyed cooking in the well appointed kitchen, playing games at the large dining table, and watching birds through the many windows of the high ceilinged living room. It was nice having two bathrooms with showers. Two of us are light sleepers, but the deep quiet allowed undisturbed rest.

Access to the wide variety of scenic, cultural and oenological destinations was easy on the network of local roads and nearby highways. There is so much variety and uniqueness in the area that none of us were bored. Pippa and Philippe are great resources for plotting the best route to your destination of the day!

March was cool, but not cold, with an even mix of sunny, cloudy and rainy days. We enjoyed watching the birds passing through or arriving from their winter homes, and the swelling buds and beautiful blossoms as the vines, shrubs and trees prepared for heat of summer. The gite was cozy enough to feel comfy on the chilly days, yet open enough to not feel claustrophobic.

In addition to our hosts, the gite itself and the surrounding countryside, highlights of our stay included: Walking in the vineyards and forest adjacent to the gite, exploring the castle at Baynac, seeing the old town and underground church at St. Emilion, walking through Bordeaux, climbing the Dune at Pilat, and shopping at the market at Ste Foy La Grande.

We believe that this would be a wonderful getaway for almost anyone: Young or old; family or friends, kids or elders, or any combination thereof. Come, take a deep breath, and enjoy life!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts, gite, surrounding countryside, scenic and cultural destinations nearby.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are pleased to know that the accomodation and its setting fulfilled all of your needs and that the area offered plenty of tourist attractions at this time of the year. Pippa and Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful Tranquillity in the Gironde.....”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Les Cypres is an immaculately clean,spacious and well equipped authentic French gite nestled among fields of vineyards and sunflowers. It's location ensures complete relaxation and tranquillity and an opportunity to admire the beautiful surrounding French countryside from every viewpoint.The surrounding gardens, punctuated by a variety of fruit trees, are beautifully maintained and provide more than enough space for a variety of amateur, yet competitive! sports including table tennis. The refreshing salt water pool is a very good size, is cleaned daily and has both a shallow and deep end for cooling plunges. The surrounding countryside is lovely and the area has many medieval towns and villages to explore, of which, many hold colourful and entertaining day/night markets. Some of our favourite visits included Duras, Issigeac, St Emilion, St Foy La Grande, Bergerac and further afield Tremolat and Limeuil (Limeuil had a picturesque river beach and from here you could kayak along either the Dordogne or the Vezere rivers) We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Monsegur night market and thank Pippa and Philippe for their recommendation. A visit to Bordeaux is a must, old Bordeaux is lovely and easily accessible due to it's great tram system and park and ride scheme.
We would like to thank our welcoming hosts Pippa and Philippe who were extremely helpful and informative, yet politely discreet, for their kind hospitality and for a relaxing and memorable holiday. One which we have all agreed was one of our best! Thank you x

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that the gite was convenient for visiting the towns and villages mentioned, and that you found it a quiet and relaxing retreat which catered for all the family needs.
Pippa and Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.