We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
1
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
1
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

“We have recently had the most wonderful, relaxing stay at Libertas with our 2 adult sons and family. Everything is beautifully appointed, comfortable beds with lovely white linen and what a beautiful environment. The views from the cottage down the valley are stunning and there are also beautiful scenic drives in the Elgin area. Libertas House is equipped with security beams for outside, an alarm, and a remote for the farmgate all of which we used as advised.

There are also three quaint little individual cottages, Lavender Cottages, on the farm. They look equally enticing and each one has its own private patio and garden with beautiful views of the orchards and the valley”.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank IanM5571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin B, Owner at Lavender Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay...so glad you had a relaxing happy time ...hope to see you again soon regards Karin B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We have stayed at Lavender Cottages twice in the past 18 months - once in one of the cottages and once at their Libertas House - which caters for a larger number of guests.
It was just wonderful and we loved every minute of the beautiful surroundings and staying in the pretty country-style cottages. It is a typical farm-stay with all the amenities provided for and space for children to play. The owners are lovely people who take the time and effort to ensure that all is in place in the cottages and they ensure that you enjoy staying on their farm. Superb views and nothing like waking up to the peace and quiet only available in the country. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Widget4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin B, Owner at Lavender Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you...am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...we enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at lavender cottages and we were very disappointed. The cottages are extremely rustic and basic - not suitable for children. As per the previous post the security is questionable. They have a security gate that doesn't need to be opened to get in, you can just walk round the side.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Libby3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

So sorry that you did not like the cottage.
The side entrance at the gate is to allow pedestrians to walk in.
Please see our review on Andy's post about other Security concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Had guests stay here for a wedding. Robbed at knife and gunpoint at 2 am by organised gang who took everything from overseas guests.....No word was made to us from the owner about numerous recent attacks in the area.

Security was completely substandard. The property being close to the main road is especially unprotected.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyG3464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

The recent crime in the valley is of great concern to everyone...
We all subscribe to Farmwatch, security companies and the Police.
We do advise guests - and we did advise Andy's guests at Libertas house - when they came to collect their keys to use the alarm systems in place.
Libertas house has a security gate at the entrance to the farm - all guests are given a remote to open the gate.
The house has beams outside, and alarm inside ......
There are clear written instructions at the front door and security pad as to how to activate the alarm.
Guests arriving back from a function in the early hours are not always alert and fail to activate the alarm.
We do understand the distress of the guests and feel awful for them.
They did use the alarm on occasion but admitted they did not activate the alarm that particular night.
Unfortunately no security is going to work if it is not activated.
We hear this is a general problem at accommodations establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Libertas House was everything we expected and more. Situated overlooking the beautiful Elgin Valley, as a family we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and would love to return again to this French-styled cottage in a very beautiful part of South Africa.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank beverley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 April 2017

So glad you liked it - hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews