We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Future Tour and Promised Land Tour”

Abel Tasman Eco Tours
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Marahau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enhance your experience of natural New Zealand. The Abel Tasman's only conservation tour. Relax, be inspired and marvel at the paradise we call home. Our top notch guides will 'open your eyes' to the world around you. Choose from a fully guided boat charter and walk exploring and learning about the amazing diversity and conservation in this iconic park, or an interpid van and walk into the ancient heart of the park. Combine both tours and get a free lunch both days! $5 From each ticket goes to conservation in the park. If you want a real Abel Tasman Experience it doesn't get better than this! Tour includes morning tea and free transport from your local accomodation. Lunch is $18 extra.
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We had the exceptional experience of walking into the heart of Abel Tasman National Park with Faye on one day, and followed it up with an another outstanding day on the water exploring the coastline with Stew.
Their knowledge, passion and enthusiasm was infectious and made for two inspiring days. The tag line of 'Open Your Eyes' is well founded - so much information was gently imparted over the days. Thoroughly enjoyable and very satisfying on so many levels (quite apart from the fact that everywhere we looked was outstandingly beautiful). Thanks so much, guys!

Thank 366Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenFuture, Owner at Abel Tasman Eco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thanks Debbie, your review hit the nail on the head of what we are trying to achieve. We're so glad you did two tours with us, that's the best way to get a real insight into the diversity of the park. Best regards to you. Cheers. Stew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

We were met by Stu at Marahau & taken by boat at around 8:30 one lovely sunny morning into Abel Tasman National Park. A tractor took us across the sands and out to sea. There were many stops including a coffee & cake stop (provided by Stu) & walk to a high view point with the most spectacular views & a lunch stop on a sand bank. Stu has so much knowledge and is enthusiastic, ensuring all the guests have a day to remember. We leaned so much about native species and conservation in New Zealand. We saw many different birds, Manuka & TeeTree trees, Silver Fern (National emblem), fur seals and SALP!

Thank Palace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My husband and I had a lovely day doing the boat tour. We learned so much from our knowledgeable guide and company owner, Stu. The views were amazing the entire day and we saw such wonderful wildlife including a full cove of seal pups! This is a must do in Abel Tasman

Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

My wife, 2 children (4 and 2 yo) and I visited Abel Tasman region and were unsure how to see this beautiful wilderness; especially with the 2 young kids. After some internet searching we came across Abel Tasman Eco Tours. The website is very easy to navigate and we were drawn to the single day boat cruise of the region labelled "Golden Future". The price on the web page seemed a little much at first but we came to realise it was money very well spent.

The tour kicked off promptly at 8:30am at Marahau straight into the large horse power motor boat and out into the Abel Tasman marine environment. There were 5 older New Zealanders, 2 Americans and us on boat and at we did not feel cramped.

Stewart (Stu) was our guide for the day and he was an absolute wealth of knowledge and passion for the region. Next to the exceptional wildlife, his in depth understanding of the environment and delivery was the best part of the tour. I think he instilled in us all some passion for the environment at Abel Tasman but also more broadly. If we had have just hired a water taxi and hiked we would not have learned a quarter of what we did with Stu.

During the trip we were fortunate to see a vast array of wildlife around the marine environment and be guided through a 4km bush walk of the regions terrestrial fauna and flora. Highlight (amongst a few) was encountering two playful young seals in a pristine ocean inlet. They performed for us for some time.

The trip took 7 hours in total with the boat arriving back to Marahau at 3:30pm. It felt a lot less than that but was quite perfectly timed for the small ones.

The children had an amazing time and were beaming after the day out. I could not recommend this more for young families. Just check in with the tour before as they can only take a few young ones on any trip.

The whole experience was exceptional and the knowledge instilled from Stu something that we all will take away with us. Thorough recommend when in the Nelson/Abel Tasman National Park region.

Thank Jono_Regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenFuture, Owner at Abel Tasman Eco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hey Jono,

thanks so much for your flattering and detailed review. We're so glad the passion rubbed off on you and the family, and we really appreciate you taking the time to let others know about us. Great Job! best regards to you and the family. Cheers, Stew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We did the Promised Land day hike our first day. Our guide, Fay, was knowledgeable, helpful, and fun. The hike was beautiful and got you to a place where you couldn't hear any human made noise other than your own breathing. Trail did require attention and moderate fitness.
2nd day was the van tour with several shorter hikes in a variety of beautiful places including a visit to Ngaura Cave where I discovered caving would not be a good sport for tall people. Nevertheless, the cave tour was fascinating and a lot of fun.

Thank craigalank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenFuture, Owner at Abel Tasman Eco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Kia ora Craig,

Many thanks for your awesome review! I will pass on your glowing praise to Fay, she will be happy as! Thanks again for choosing to come out with us, and we're glad we could take you to such a remote location in this increasingly crowded world. Cheers. Stew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abel Tasman Eco Tours also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing