We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for the Elan Valley”
other travellers have booked this property
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle Searle Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle
Searle Lounge
Searle kitchen
Dine in Style
The Searle's stylish Bedroom
Lots of Space
Drift from bed to garden on warm summer days!
Rhayader: market town and gateway to the Elan Valley
Mountain Bike Centre, Rhayader
Penycareg dam after rain
The beauty of Penycarreg Lake
Castle Mound, Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Sledging in the Park
Rhayader by Nature
Waterfall in Rhayader
The splendour of autumn in the Elan Valley
Carreg Du Reservoir
Canoe on the Wye in Rhayader
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jools M
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for the Elan Valley”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We wanted a place near the Elan Valley, this was perfect and not far from Rhayader the nearest town.
The cottage was warm and comfortable with a great shower and plenty of space.
We were met by Elaine who showed us around and made us feel welcome.
If back in the area would book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
I'm glad you enjoyed staying in the Searle Cottage. It really is spacious for a one bedroom cottage. Thank you for your kind remarks they are much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakaria K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My kindest regards to the owner, Elaine, for the most accommodating visit - you are an exceptional host.

Our journey to Wales was a long drive from London with delays along the way. We finally reached the cottage around half past 12 midnight where there was no shortage of enthusiasm on the welcome front from Elaine who gave us a tour and a thorough overview to get us going.

The cottage is cosy with good facilities and the location is ideal with a number of attractions nearby and a couple of local shops as well. The surrounding beauty of the cottage, from hills, rivers and woodlands is to be marvelled.

Our stay in The Searle and visit to Wales was overall extremely delightful and a mesmerising experience.

Thank you again Elaine.

Zak

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Zak for taking the time to post a review. I am thrilled with your comments which are so encouraging. The area is indeed very beautiful with lots to see around and about. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Thank you again.

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab stay in the Serle”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a fab time at the cottage, loved every minute. Ideal location for the Elan Valley. Only complaint was the bed wasn't very comfy but that's just personal choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of the Searle cottage. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Elaine

ps Sorry about the bed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBR10
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday cottage close to the beautiful Elan Valley”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cottage has everything you need for a relaxing break. The owner Elaine couldn't be more helpful and everything was spotlessly clean and every little detail thought of.
We were lucky to have a very hot week in June for our stay, but the cottage remained lovely and cool. It is relatively close to the main A470, but traffic noise wasn't a problem. There is a petrol station/Spar/Greggs adjacent which is great for those last minute items or a lazy breakfast.
Plenty of space and parking and a footpath through the woods to the river Wye. We would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - thanks also for your very positive and encouraging comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
1 review
“Mr ”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A fantastic place to stay with fantastic facilities. Excellent location with great access to North Wales and South Wales. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your very positive feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to post the review.

Best wishes

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing