We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in fantastic surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willow Holt

200 year old cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 year old cottage
Spend some time with your family, not shut away in the kitchen! Comfortable downstairs area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
200 year old cottage
Spend some time with your family, not shut away in the kitchen!
Comfortable downstairs area
The comfy lounge area
Unwind after a busy day in the forest
Comfy king-size bed
Twin bedroom
Shared garden, viewed from the back of the property
Why not visit in winter?
Catch some sun at the front of the property
View of the garden from the landing
Welcome to Willow Holt
Enclosed seating area, accessible from the lounge.
Your welcome tray awaits!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hockwold cum Wilton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
391kath
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in fantastic surroundings”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed in this beautiful cottage with my husband, adult sons, young daughter and 2 small dogs. The cottage was lovely, clean and comfortable with lots of extras such as books and board games set in a very quiet peaceful area. There is a very large shared garden at the back and a fenced patio area, great for keeping the dogs away from the 4 chickens or to have a bbq or quiet drink in the evenings. The villages of Hockwold and Feltwell are both within a 5 minute drive, right out of the cottage and along the lane to Hockwold or left for Feltwell. Both have friendly pubs serving food and Feltwell also have a Chinese takeaway and Fish and Chip shop. Brandon is only 15 minutes and has a big Aldi, lota of takeaways and a great little bowling alley. Thetford Forest is again only 20 minutes away or you could go further to Wells by the Sea or Hunstanton for the beach or hire a boat on the broads at Wroxham. There is Fly fishing near by or you can access the river at Brandon, Oakwood Fishing is a no go unless you want specialist fishing and are willing to pay £75 a day and book in advance.
All in all a fantastic holiday was had by all everyone wished we could stay longer. We would love to return to the cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westozi
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Quiet Cottage”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed here with two other friends from 25th - 31st July 2015. Clean and comfortable. Located in the country along a narrow road. Very quiet and peaceful. Well equipped. As owners were away for their summer holidays we were allowed to park in their driveway. Otherwise you need to park on the side of the road. Only negatives were no washing machine, a dead spot as far as mobile phone is concerned and there was no broom to sweep the floor. A bit difficult for a 70 year old to sweep the floor with a dustpan and brush. Nevertheless we had a wonderful time exploring the area with the cottage as our base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reviewour...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelled with husband, two sons plus girlfriends. The cottage suited our needs, a 3 night stay to go to a family reunion. Lovely location, friendly owner-liked the flapjack! Friendly neighbours lots of wildlife on doorstep including 3 hens who demanded breakfast on a morning, birds in owners garden on birdfeeder and great crested grebe with chick on nearby fishing lake, also lots of flowers and interesting hedgerows, would have been happy to stay longer. My son found a feather pillow ( he thinks) anti-allergy pillows and duvets are better as some of us suffer allergies (son and me to feathers) Not sure whether this cottage will be available for long as up for sale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Flora and Fauna
Liked least: Lack of signposts to next village on main roads-lack of signposts to local castles etc. Cottage was fine.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you for your nice review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Half of the pillows in the cottage are feather, and the other half are synthetic. This allows for changing around between those who love feathers and those who might be allergic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dippychic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic host , we got fresh flowers and cake .. Tanya had supplied the basic like tea, coffee and milk .. Which was gratefully received .

The cottage was perfect for 6 ladies in a horse riding holiday . We had a lovely BBQ , sat outside in peace and quiet after a busy day ..

Rooms were a lovely size .. And plenty of space for our luggage

It was a pretty quaint cottage

Lots of hot water morning and night .. in fact overal the cottage was 12 out of 10 !!! Thank you x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that you found the cottage to your taste.
I hope you found Thetford Forest a great place to visit with your horses, and that you might come back and explore some more another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A filthy, damp ,hovel”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photos on the website are not reflective of the cottage, very disappointed,everything was shabby and dirty. The windows were dirty inside and outside, the yard was dirty and overgrown.
The house looked delapidated. Inside the bedroom had black mould on the walls, cobwebs were hanging from walls,lights curtains and blinds. The fire blanket was thick with grease, as was the sides of the cooker. The bathroom had large cracks in the wall, more mould and spiders webs under the toilet, and on the ceiling. We left after 2 nights of our weeks booking, the ants and foisty smell were too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent holiday. As explained to you already, I had a friend get the cottage ready for you after other guests departed, and I am sorry that the cobwebs were not removed. I am afraid that in a two hundred year old property the outside of the cottage will not look like new.
If you had told me of your concerns when I met you, I could have rectified many of them while you were enjoying the local amenities. As you know, I have refunded your entire week's payment, despite the fact that you did stay for two nights.
My guests who stayed both immediately before and after you both commented on what a nice time they spent here at Willow Holt, and I am sorry that you did not have the same experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing