We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Hibiscus Swallow's Nest”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kudat, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JandJFarn...
farnham common
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“The Hibiscus Swallow's Nest”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

An urban man’s Eutopia. Somewhere between Castaway, Desert Island Discs and Robinson Crusoe! We agree with all that has been said before and, like them, how lucky we were to be guided to 4 days of bliss perched-upon the swallows nest of this beautiful bay. Not the quietest of idyllic hideaways, the crashing waves, cicada, crickets and insect and bird noises galore but ‘jungle-esque’ and romantic in every way.

Relatively expensive (in excess of the Le Meridien in KK), it is worth the experience. Yes, it does have minor criticisms – the music centre didn’t work; no-one was available when we left to help us with our 2 heavy suitcases from the bungalow through the jungle (100m) to the car; one of the staff might have been a little intrusive at times etc. but, overall it really was worth the drive from KK to the Tip of Borneo and an opportunity we wouldn’t have missed – don’t you if you get the opportunity.
Our only postscript is that one of us came away with over 100 bites to ones back and advice from both the chemist and a local hotel operator was that they were not caused by mosquitos but more probably by bed bugs; possibly James could carry out the appropriate fumigation to deter future problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The position and access to the beach and sea.
Liked least: Suitcase carrying
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Hi Jackie, thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay and it was great to meet up with you along the Kinabatangan River of all places! I just wanted to give you some feedback on some of your comments...1).I've checked the music player and it's the CD function which is not working. I've placed a temporary iPod there until I can get a replacement music player. 2). I'm sorry there was no staff there to help you with your bags upon check out. I always try to ensure there is a member of staff present most of the time and it's very unfortunate that they were not there when you needed them. 3). As discussed, you no longer think the bed had bed bugs seeing that it was only yourself (not your husband) who was bitten and you think possibly it was the sun lounger. We have the chalet fumigated against jungle insects on a regular basis and so I was very surprised to learn of your bed bug incident. All soft furnishings have anti-microbial protection (protection against dust mites, bacteria and fungus). Furthermore, we regularly air all mattresses and cushions and the covers, duvets etc. are regularly washed. Yesterday I arranged for a professional pest company to inspect the mattress, duvet, pillows, sofa, cushions and sun loungers and no sign of bugs were present. Since your stay, we have had 3 more groups of guests stay and none reported any incident. Therefore, I can only think that your bites were either caused by sand flies (they can affect people in different ways and many people they do not bite), some jungle insects which you were particularly prone to be affected by or your previous accommodation provider. I wish you a very enjoyable remaining stay in Sabah. Kind regards, James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful place felt very special.James and the guys (Peter, mimi,celestine) special thanks to Jetol, friend for life, I should be so lucky

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vita W
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hibiscus Beach Retreat was our last stop on our Borneo travels. We were super fortunate to secure the place at short notice (seems November is a quieter time in Sabah). When we arrived the view and chalet exceeded our all expectations and we were blown away by the fact that this beautiful beach was literally just for us. We have explored the area by foot and by motor bike - there are stunning beaches on either side of ours, local area and villages - equally fascinating. Jetol, who looked after us was an absolute diamond - everything we need or wanted was done instantly. Also, they have an amazing coffee making machine - which made my husband very happy. In short, a fabulous, romantic, super comfortable place one can not afford to miss!! Huge thank you to James, Jetol and all guys who make this place tick. Keep up the good work. Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Secluded tropical paradise”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just a three hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Kota Kinabalu lies this secluded and utterly enchanting holiday escape. We spent a fantastic weekend enjoying the peace and quiet of this tucked away corner of Borneo. We had the beach to ourselves and the South China Seascapes viewed from our private balcony were breathtaking. James, the owner, had sent us excellent directions and on arrival we were greeted by Jetol, the helpful and engaging local manager. The chalet itself is beautiful. It's very well appointed and tastefully designed. We chose to order a takeaway meal on our first evening which Peter, our friendly night watchman, collected for us and we had a couple of beers and ate at one of the beach restaurants a short drive away the following night. The Hibiscus Beach Retreat offers the perfect base for relaxing and for exploring the beautiful, undeveloped Tip of Borneo. Snorkelling, paddle boarding and cycling can all be enjoyed direct from the chalet. We loved it so much that within a day of returning home, we booked ourselves a longer stay in the Christmas holidays. Hibiscus Beach Retreat will be the highlight of many a holiday and our stay was no exception.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: We were happy with every aspect of our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place ”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had an absolutely amazing weekend stay at the Hibiscus Villa. Very relaxing setting with essentially a stunning private beach and beautiful villa to stay in! The staff were very friendly and helpful with and queries or requests we had. Would highly recommend a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing