We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,387)
Filter reviews
2,387 results
Traveller rating
1,236
695
266
98
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,236
695
266
98
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue roomentertainment teamhistoric roomssignature roomevening entertainmentold houseblue grillice cavegrand hallmain restauranteagle owldaytime activitiessherwood restaurantmain halldance floortribute bandnight break
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 2,387 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

The dining room where we taken for afternoon tea is just beautiful .The afternoon tea consisted of the usual selection of sandwiches and cake but also home made scones that were warm when they were served.Delicious! We had a bottle of champagne to accompany our treat .It was a great experience and not to expensive if you don't have the champers! Will be going again .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Scallywag19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThoresbyHall, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Thoresby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Thoresby Hall Hotel for Afternoon Tea.

It is fantastic to see you were able to enjoy your birthday celebrations in the beautiful setting of the Blue Grill Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Megan C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Visited Thorsby Hall with a coach party, what a beautiful venue with stunning gardens and plenty of walks and outdoor pursuits. Bedrooms are lovely with comfortable beds, lovely linens and a welcome tea/coffee tray with biscuits. I was impressed with the restaurant, the food and service is of an excellent standard. Our waiter Antony was excellent, very efficient and helpful. Each night we went to the entertainment lounge and were not disappointed, Neil Diamond tribute act and the Night at the Musicals by the resident team were very good. Standards are high at this hotel and all the staff really do go the extra mile to ensure we all had a very good holiday. Thank You Thorsby Hall

Room Tip: Standard, Signature and Historic all offer something a little different.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank handigreenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThoresbyHall, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Thoresby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Thoresby Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to see you had such a fantastic stay, making the most of the beautiful setting we have here at Thoresby. I will certainly be sharing your kind words with the rest of the hotel, and ensure Antony in particular is praised for his hard work.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Thoresby Hall.

Kind Regards,

Megan C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This place is amazing to visit , the house is huge and nicely decorated in keeping with the period. Our room was large ,clean and nicely furnished . The food choice and quality here is second to none with the staff very friendly and helpful .If there is a negative side to this hotel it has to be the entertainment in the evenings which we found bordering on awful most nights and very amateur, However the ambience ,setting and general feel of the place is exceptional . Would visit again but probably stay clear of the theatre.

Room Tip: Rooms in historic house are pricier but nicer.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rintana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThoresbyHall, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Thoresby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Thoresby Hall Hotel, I am pleased to see you have a very enjoyable break with us.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the entertainment on this break as much as many of our guests, however we understand entertainment is always open to individual interpretation. Please be assured your comments have been passed to our Entertainments Manager for her further consideration.

We do hope you choose to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Megan C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a truly great time. Spa was good, food was amazing and the house and grounds spectacular. The vast grounds made for some pleasant walks and scenery to view. The house was very well presented and the ancient part of the estate kept in the way these buildings should, traditional. The shows in the evening were good, we saw a Neil Diamond tribute act and the staff then laid on their musical tribute show. Both of which were worth watching. It is also worth doing the upgrade to eat in the Blue Grill restaurant. 5 courses were well presented and the steaks cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the House
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThoresbyHall, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Thoresby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Thoresby Hall Hotel.

It is wonderful to hear you had a great two night stay with us, and found everything such as the spa, food and groups to be spectacular.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Thoresby Hall in the future.

Kind Regards,

Megan C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Once we overcame the Warner label we realised what a fantastic choice we had made for what became a 5 night stay. Huge benefit of recent warm weather we needed to be in the Derbyshire Dales area and with a newly acquired status of an over 60 was introduced to the concept and found a half price weekend offer. This was subsequently extended to include a further 2 day midweek re-plan and the team couldn't have been more helpful in its organisation. Only took a standard room knowing that we would not spend much time here, but with benefit of Patio addition, these are a fantastic base offer by any standard and ridiculously priced when you take into account the inclusive breakfast and 3 course dinner. Nicely decorated, large and very comfy beds in relatively spacious rooms with anticipated facilities. TV signal is still an issue but with free wi-fi and sporadic phone signal up there it was all tolerable.
The staff sell the place and are wonderfully attentive in every way. Reception team bend over backwards, the young bar and restarant teams are very professionally trained with smiles on their faces and acknowledgement to guests whenever you bump into them. As a "southener" we did sometimes feel that local expressions appeared a little overfamiliar and/or patronising but we are being very picky. The restaurant management teams are however ALL excellent considering the scale of catering our masses. The menus are varied and the presentation during dinner services was a much higher standard than we had expected for these numbers and my husbands carvery one night was excellent. But....if I'd known I probably would have chosen to pay the Blue Grill supplement to dine there everynight as value for money, its setting and the superior food quality/menu choices were worth every penny (but as a Londoner this was a bargain). Rebecca our server for the night absolutely epitomised how to achieve a perfect guest experience as did everyone here. Perfectly cooked scallops followed canapes and despite there being no filet steak that night I personally had a beautiful piece of sirloin cooked as "blue" as they are permitted to prepare and wonderful rack of pink lamb were supported by recommended choices of topping and sauces and option to mixnmatch with table sides which we shared around. Desserts were sublime....and then wonderful truffles and fudge arrived with coffees. Female chef that night knew what she was doing! Wine lists everywhere are standardised and extremely well priced, adequate but not extensive. Unfortunately we had chosen a Provence rose, found previously in the Sherwood but not one but two bottles showed strange sediments at end of bottles which we raised with team...and if I have one complaint across 5 days is that both were charged in our final bill. (Reception team are investigating though).
The Spa facilities are fantastic and despite being seemingly fully booked in advance I was recommended to check back on arrival and did managed to fit in another treatment (Karen is fantasic for massages)
We did not intend to be fans of or visit for the evening entertainment but acknowledge it suits many others - it is completely average but unobtrusive so as with all the offerings its very easy to "optout". With more available time we may have used more of the outdoor day facilities which are extensive....we preferred to have days out visiting Chatsworth and Hardwich both easy drives into the Dales and walking husband spent many hours exploring local Clumber NT park as well as the very local estate......Time flew. Didnt inspire me to explore any further Warner site offers but would return and recommend this venue if need to be in this area.

Room Tip: Standard, with patio, in new block perfectly adequate. Check bath and/or shower. Total indulgence luxury in historic.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank londonHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThoresbyHall, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Thoresby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your first visit to Thoresby Hall Hotel.

It is fantastic to see you had a very pleasurable stay, even exceeding your expectations. I am pleased to hear you found many aspects of your stay to be good, such as the accommodation, facilities and team. I will be happy to share all of your kind words with the rest of the hotel, and ensure the team mentioned are recognised for all of their hard work.

We do hope you choose to join us at Thoresby Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Megan C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews