We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
C N
Seattle, Washington

Honest and ethical

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2024via mobile
Sadly we didn’t actually stay with Sussana due to an Airbnb issue unrelated to Sussana’s listing. I’m writing and giving 5 stars because Sussana is an extremely honest and ethical host who went to the time and trouble of issuing us a refund. I wish I could say the same about all Airbnb hosts.
We hope to return one day and stay in what is very obviously and incredible place to stay. I recommend booking directly through Sussana’s oldslaughterhouse website or call her directly NZ two seven 4 two eight O six sixty five.

THANKS AGAIN SUSSANA
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Call Sussana direct or go through her personal website
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
$135
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
9.1 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
Al fresco dining.
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
30.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Basic Studio
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
30.8 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Booking.com
30.9 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.3 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
43.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.4 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hector
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ten minute walk new zealand the kitchen hosts luggage hostel coast track west slaughterhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

The most amazing place to stay, I only wish we had more time to make use of this lodge for many more days. Stunning location overlooking the sea and extremely well equipped. Our hostess , Suzanne, was the perfect host ! Very informative and maintaining a very relaxed atmosphere. I could not recommend this place more highly. Do not be put off by the walk up the hill, the end result is well worth the effort.
Colin & Claire from Scotland

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2023

We wanted to get to know the "wild" west coast of New Zealand. The Old Slaughterhouse seemed like the best place to explore some tracks from there. The hostel is rustic and the location is simply stunning. The sanitary facilities, the kitchen and the rooms are in perfect condition. The hostess is super friendly and helped us with words and deeds. We would like to stay longer or come back sometime.

Room tip: Sometimes the kitchen is a bit crowdy, so check the time you want to prepare dinner.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hauro-no
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2022

From the beginning, we felt at home at Susanna and Davids place. The ten minute walk, leaving the car behind was unique in itself! Due to excellent communication, everything was seamlessly organised by our hosts regarding luggage pick up. The property has a splendid view of the sea and coastline as well as lots of character. We felt we were somewhere special in the afternoons after a full-on day of activity. It was a joy to come back to this sunny, peaceful retreat to relax with a glass of wine. Our hosts were warm and responsive when we needed them. This is a standout stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules068
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

I’ve known this place since 2015 through a friend. I had no chance to see it until today.
David pick us up from Westport. Upon arrival, the luggages will be carried through a quad bike, then it’s an uphill 10min hike, torch is helpful. The place offers an amazing view (either with a cuppa or wine or just sit and watch the sea), nice and tidy, feels like home, lush green sceneries, close to nature, walk by the beach, georgie sammy and lilly will accompany you too. We are greatful for David and Susannah for sharing their lovely paradise, they are friendly and accomodating. I will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank FallonA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We have known about The Old Slaughterhouse’s outstanding reputation for almost twenty years but not managed to get over to Hector to stay, until now.

We stayed for one night before and three nights after tramping the Old Ghost Road.

This Travellers Lodge is simply stunning in terms of location; views over the Tasman; unique and creative flair; individual style; comfort of beds, cabins and rooms; outstanding quality and value. Underpinning all these, David and Susannah are warm, friendly, gracious and creative hosts who share their unique home with their fortunate guests, many of whom return each year. We hope to do so ourselves as soon as possible!

(They are very honest about the walking track from the carpark up to the Lodge, their quad bike luggage service but the necessity of guests to be able and fit enough to walk up. We knew what to expect and had no difficulty in doing so, despite our ages (70+). )

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Navigator59166940037
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews