We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ten minute walk new zealand the kitchen hosts luggage hostel coast track west slaughterhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2020 via mobile

A slightly delayed jolly due to lockdown but definitely worth the wait. Dave & Susannah were great hosts and really felt like staying at your own place. We arrived just before sunset, Dave picked up our bags and we wandered the 10 minutes up the track enjoying amazing views of the coast. There was a welcoming cup of tea and picnic table on the deck to enjoy the best of the view. We stayed in the cabin which was very cosy and had lovely views. Kitchen and living areas well set up so the simple food supplies we brought worked well. A fantastic stay and looking forward to visiting again as every visit we discover more to see next time. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tintin675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

After walking up the hill for about 10 minutes the view was stunning and the finish of the main buildings and the rooms amazing. Lots of room for cooking and sitting in comfortable couches and chairs. The highlight was sitting outside for dinner. All the luggage gets taken by the owners by 4 wheeler. Quite unique. Owners very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

We very much recommend staying here. Every thing is well organized, the sharedvkitchen, showers and toilets were clean all our stay. The sitting area is so relaxing, with a wonderful view. The owners are very helpful. So yes, you have a little hike up to the place, but they drive your luggage up, so no worries! Just go and enjoy!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dalia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2020

After seeing the pictures on the internet, we decided that the 'Old Slaughterhouse' was a must and we were certainly not disappointed - for it must be one of the most memorable, lovely and stunning places we have stayed in during our 50+ years of travelling.

David and Susanna are the most wonderful hosts - friendly, helpful and made us most welcome throughout our stay. The bungalows are well equipped, extremely comfortable beds, with outstanding views over the Tasman Sea

In the main building there is a cosy comfortable lounge, dining area, plus a kitchen that has all the cooking facilities and equipment you could wish for. David and Susanna must be complimented on keeping the whole complex spotlessly clean and tidy

Although it is a ten-minute uphill track walk to the property from the car park (we are 70+ and easily managed it) but DO NOT let this deter you, for the owners will convey your luggage by quad bike - but give advance notice.

We can VERY HIGHLY recommend this stunning property to any travellers to the South Island and can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

Thank you David and Susanna for a most memorable stay - it certainly exceeded our expectations and we only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room tip: A torch will be useful if you wish to visit the bathroom during the night.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 891gwynned
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after biking the Old Ghost Road - we expected it just to be somewhere to get a good sleep before heading further south the next day and ended up wishing we were staying longer!

David and Susanna are fantastic hosts. They were warm, chatty and enthusiastic and made us feel instantly welcome, even making us a cup of (much needed) tea.

Our room was super clean and really comfortable, tucked away at the top of the sort of 'complex' of buildings. The view in the morning was over the sea, really tranquil. The kitchen had everything we could have needed and the common area was fantastic. The bathroom facilities were also clean, regularly checked and had plenty of water.

Look out for the glow worms if you walk up from the car park at night!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dcm516
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews