We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Angie B
Nelson, New Zealand

Lovely relaxed spot with cozy fireplace

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2019via mobile
Super chilled out place with a good vibe to it. David and Susanna are very lovely hosts and the facilities were clean, kitchen fully equipped.
Cozy lounge, stunning views, glowworms and shooting star.
Thanks again for the ride back to our cars ☀️🙂
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
$135
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
9.1 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
Night night Westport
Tripadvisor
$122
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
29.4 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free parking
Deck
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $106
  • Priceline
30.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Al fresco dining.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $98
  • Priceline
30.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Priceline
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.8 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.3 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
43.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.4 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hector
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ten minute walk new zealand the kitchen hosts luggage hostel coast track west slaughterhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Clean, tidy, confortable, well equipped accommodation. Very friendly hosts. Totally recommended.
Note :
1) 10 min somewhat steep walk from the car park, but bags are carried.
2) no toilets in units.

But don't let that put you off. It's a perfect place to chill out.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AliGoatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

On our way from Franz Joseph Glacier to Abel Tasman, we decided to make a detour to the old slaughterhouse after seeing pictures of the place on the internet. We are so glad we went there, common area and bedroom were stunning, built in wood (by the owner!), with an amaizing view to the Tasman sea. The hosts were very nice and helpful, and they have such an interesting life story! The 10min climbing walk to arrive didn't bother us and David was there to take the luggages with the quad if needed. We stayed one night but we would have loved to stay more. One of the most beautiful and special places we saw, we definitely recommend it!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sfeldman_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2019

What a fantastic place to stay. A five minute walk through the bush uphill to take you to this amazing property. Lovely facilities. Fantastic hosts who are warm and friendly and most of all helpful. Couldn't fault anything about this accommodation.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank louk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

A unique and wonderful place to stay . David and Susanna were great hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed sharing their lovely home and outstanding view with them and George the dog and the 2 cats. Beds were very comfy and cosy, clean and eco friendly. Leaving was hard, like bursting a lovely bubble. We would and already have recommended it.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janeafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2018

It's about a ten minutes walk uphill through the bush to this place, but it is really worth it. Suzanna takes your luggage and supplies up the hill on the quad bike, and when you get up there, the view from all of the rooms is outstanding. Dave has built the place himself from a lot of recycled materials. but you wouldn't know it; it all looks really good. There's a very well equipped kitchen and a lovely warm lounge with a cozy fire.Areaaly great place to stay on the Coast. And they're great hosts!

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Doublenaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews