We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joe R
Lexington, Massachusetts, United States

the BEST hostel in New Zealand

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2017
This is an exceptional hostel, located up the hill, with a fab view of the Tasman Sea. The rooms are beautiful, ours with a porch and chair, to sit and watch the sea brighten the next morming. The kitchen and common areas huge, the lay out very roomy. Its five tons of wood carted up the side of a mountain, and made available to us for relaxation and recharging. I still dream of coming back, and my love of New Zealand are from people like our host and hostess.
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$135
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
9.1 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
Night night Westport
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $113
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $113
29.4 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $290
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
30.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deck
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $106
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $106
30.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Al fresco dining.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $110
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Priceline
30.2 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Loft Apartments
$169
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
30.4 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $162
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $162
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $157
  • Priceline
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Basic Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Priceline
30.7 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $174
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $174
30.8 km from The Old Slaughterhouse Traveller's Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hector
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ten minute walk new zealand the kitchen hosts luggage hostel coast track west slaughterhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Lovely spot, great hosts, very nicely appointed, comfortable and immaculate. The walk from the carpark is not for everyone but anyone with a minimum level of fitness can do it. A great place in all weather conditions.

Date of stay: January 2017
1  Thank 385jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I stayed with David and Suzanne 2 nights about a week ago. It is a special house in a special location. I liked the sea view from the veranda. The vegetation is lush and there are lots of birds. Hospitality was great and both Suzanne and David make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marinusklijnsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My son Scott and I stayed here for two nights recently. Glad we stayed two nights as one would not have been enough to relax and unwind after sampling the beautiful coast and walks around Hector. Dave and Susanna were perfect hosts in a perfect setting above the bushline. The lodge has a homely feel to it and is kept spotless by Dave , whose enthusiasm and friendliness is so refreshing. Would love to revisit for longer next time, maybe in a year or two, and hopefully hear more interesting tales from Dave and get to know you both more. Thanks for a wonderful stay. I know Scott would echo these words!

Room tip: Good views of southern coast from left hand corner room as you face to the coast.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Waitaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2016

To me the best hostel in NZ! Home away from home. Beautiful and stunning views. Great walks nearby. Best sleep with the sound of the sea in the ears. Been here twice and still think of my stay a lot.
Thank you David for everything!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank niko873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Stayed there for a few days in the beginning of 2015 just to be away from it all... Never did I clear my head so efficiently... truly amazing place. The minute you step in you feel at home, with David being a really nice host. Every once in a while I think back of this place and I can defenitely say that I will visit New Zealand and the Old Slaughterhouse again. Hopefully sooner that later...

All the best to you David!

Sander, AKA Bigfoot.

Room tip: Just go, don't hesitate
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews