We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bolberry House Farm Caravan and Camping Park
Nearby Hotels
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
US$227
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$357
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
US$329
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lantern Lodge(Hope Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
47
12
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
12
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal areahope covepizzathe ownermain parkcouldn't do enoughsouth hamslovely familyfreezer blockssite managersurrounding area is stunningfriendly campsiteman tentlong grasswonderful campsiteclean facilitiescoastal path
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We have been enjoying holidays at this very special place for many years. Fiona and Elaine are the most warm and welcoming owners, always having time to say hello and advise on places to go and things to see and do locally. The views from the caravan park down to the sea are simply stunning. There are plenty of lovely walks directly from the park, taking in some spectacular views and don't miss the walk down to Hope Cove, a lovely family beach with plenty of choice to eat and drink. It is a short distance to Salcombe or Kingsbridge and the little shop on site caters for your immediate needs. If you are looking for that special place to visit for your holidays, make this holiday park your choice, it would be really difficult not to enjoy your stay.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Myself and our family stayed in August, we stayed for 10 nights in the main camping area. With a large 8 man tent with side porch, plus a trailer. The pitches were very large we had plenty of room and didn’t have neighbours right on top of us. The grass was well kept and we had a nice high hedge to pitch against. We had an amazing view as we were pretty high up.

The two ladies who run the camp site were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The toilet/shower blocks in the main area were posh ports cabin type ones. They were a little dated, but very clean and well maintained, Fiona was in there at 6am cleaning and again through the day. You need 20p for about 3min in the showers, ladies in the family could shower in that time but could do with a little longer to wash hair. You can put 40p in so you don’t need to get out again.
Location wise it was lovely, nice and away from any hussle and bussle, beautiful views, but a lot of walking up and down steep hills if walking from the site.
We tried the pizza and chip vans that visited the sites, although a little pricey we thought the food was good.
We all had a lovely time, and if wanting the visit the same area again we would definitely like to stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We had the MOST wonderful time staying at Bolberry for 6 nights towards the end of August 2017 - we came with our two children. Fiona and Elaine couldn't do enough to help us with, providing us with huge amounts of information so that we could make the most of the area. Incredibly dark skies for those for those who like looking up at the stars. The area is totally stunning and we just can't wait to come back. Just hope the skies will be clearer next time so we can take home some beautiful astronomy shots!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineStidston, Owner at Bolberry House Farm Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Many thanks for your review Natasha and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct, some night skies are just incredible with lots of shooting stars at that time of year so let's hope you'll have better visibility next time.
Take care and our very best wishes to you and your family.
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I have been spending my summers for many years in the paddock and find the last review most upsetting.Elaine and Fiona have worked dam hard over the years and the majority of people adore the paddock.
The track up to the paddock is NOT a road and if you trundle up it it is more than adequate.I suspect the previous reviewer was driving too fast.It is a campsite with children on.
As for leaves in the toilets,we have just had 2 or 3 horrendous blows.Insects including spiders live in the countryside.Should Elaine and Fiona set up clothes hooks in the middle of the field instead of the back shower door?
Legislation requires electric token boxes to be out of the shower compartment,any grown adult should know this.
The south hams are full of steep hills,do some people expect the girls to hire a JCB and flatten the whole area!,how luducrus!
If i owned the campsite i would unfortunately have to put up with the odd whinger,the majority of people love this natural scenic place.
Like i said,i have had 10 glorious summers in the paddock and you always get "the odd one" that has to criticize

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank richierich30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned home after staying in our tent at Bolberry House Farm campsite and well, where do I start....the positives first:
Great location...close to Salcombe & Hope Cove
The owners Elaine & Fiona are very friendly.

The negatives:
The road up to the camping field is horrendous...pot holes like you wouldn't believe.
Axle deep potholes - you need a 4x4 not really suitable for cars.
The toilet block is just about adequate being that the toilets flush and you can wash your hands (but a lack of drying facilities is evident), Otherwise they are full of insects, cobwebs & leaves, the showers are basic, the clothes hooks are on the back of the shower door, so when you have to go out to put another 20p in the meter you struggle to open the door as your stuff is hanging on the back of it, and obviously you're also naked and probably covered in shampoo!
The steep path down to the toilet block from the camping field is a health and safety hazard..hardly any lighting at night, overgrown with nettles and loose gravel and patchy Tarmac underfoot.
Having to pay 20p for hot water to wash your dishes is just ludicrous.
Some of the pitches are not even habitable (the ones near the rubbish area), way too sloping and uneven.
If I owned this campsite I would be embarrassed at the service and facilities I was providing, how it got 3 AA stars is beyond me.
It wouldn't take much to make this a good site but it needs some cash injection and someone running it who wants to give their customers a great holiday experience with nice facilities.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank KDBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineStidston, Owner at Bolberry House Farm Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Good Afternoon
In response to your post, all your negative points have been noted and I'm sorry you clearly didn't enjoy your stay with us.
We appreciate all feedback and as you will see from over 90% of the posts made below, we have never received such negative remarks.
Elaine & Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews