We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
64
15
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
15
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mackerel fishing rods beach resort big fish fishing trip great fish beach front caught fish hatching season relaxing family holiday beachfront cabin excellent fishing sea snakes red emperor self contained full kitchen turtle tracks
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

This for me was a fishing trip.I booked the 6 days on the island with 4 days charter fishing on the Mackerel Islands Fishing Charters boat.The fishing was sensational.We caught spanish mackerel and tuna on the troll and a huge range of bottom fish including red emperor,rankin cod,mangrove jack,gold band,saddle tail and amberjack.
The boat was very comfortable with padded seats and leg rests to aid with pulling in the fish.The rods and reels were all high quality shimano gear needed to handle some of the very big fish including those annoying sharks.Chris the skipper has an excellent knowledge of the area and withe the combination of GPS and echosounder is guaranteed to put you on fish.
Thanks to Chris and Geoff 2 friendly pleasant guys who made this such a memorable fishing trip.

Room Tip: The Mackerel islands is NOT a hotel.It has a choice of cabins or rooms to stay in both doubles and singles.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a week in wonderful self contained unit. Great time, awesome reef / ground. Staff were the best - Manager Chris made sure we were well looked after even helped repairing of Sons prescription glasses. Ash helped out with knowledge of area and helped with a boat issue. Can’t give enough praise. Refueling of boat on island was easy as well. Awesome diving spots - nice big mackies, trout etc great fish processing facilities

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent fishing trip, stayed in chalets on beach front, clean and comfortable. We had 2 days on charter with excellent skipper Chris who ensured that we had our Essie’s full of premium fillets to take back home.
Rest of time we fished and snorkelled from the Plakas catching Spanish Mackerel, tuna and GTs

Great fun

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dunnharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We visited Thevenard Island with 3 other families during the September / October school holidays as part of a Karijini and Coral Coast holiday. It is an absolutely wonderful place with great beaches, fish, coral, other wildlife and heaps to do. But the place is made even better by the friendly and accommodating staff that go out of their way to make sure you are having a great time. We swam with turtles, stingrays, sharks, caught fish (yes Mackerel) and liked it so much or 4 night trip became 5 nights. Even when it is windy there is a corner of the island that is protected and our kids loved it. A great and relaxing family holiday that we have recommended to all of our friends. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank cjo699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a beachfront cabin which was a 2 bed/1 bath. Full kitchen, BBQ amenities, shop on the island. Had the best weekend, walking the beaches, water temp was great and signs of turtles everywhere. Staff are very accomodating and do their best for the guests, ferrying us across the island for our beach walk. Renovations are planned but for what you pay it is good value already. Definitely recommend it and will be returning for Turtle hatching season.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jettsjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews