We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic New Years Weekend Away”
Review of Mackerel Islands

Mackerel Islands
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Mackerel Islands are surrounded by the world's most spectacular amusement park: the Indian Ocean. 22 kilometres off the coast of Onslow, Western Australia, the waters here are teeming with a carnival of marine life. A mask and snorkel gives kids unlimited entry to admire the action. For a front row seat, try diving through the riotous colour of the coral gardens. Prefer games of skill? Test your strength above water as you try and haul in a Red Emperor or Spanish Mackerel. We're in the Pilbara's fishiest waters so no one goes home empty handed. On land, the show continues with turtle hatchings and amazing wildlife. The landscape offers a classical north-western Australian experience, abound with vegetation typical of the region. The calm, relaxed nature of the islands provides an ideal escape for singles, couples, families and groups. One has only to step foot onto the islands to experience simultaneous disconnect and reconnect - disconnect from life's bustle and reconnect with those who matter the most.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Thank you to Pete and the rest of the team for looking after us. Our group of 7 had the best NY's long weekend! The cabins are perfect for groups and we loved it so much we've already booked in for our next weekend getaway. Awesome fishing straight off the Jetty as well as out on the boat. Catching the Coral Trout was the highlight for me. Fantastic service, such a hidden gem in WA!!

Thank klplac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, marketing at Mackerel Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Hi klplac,

Sounds like you all had a brilliant holiday - thanks for sharing your opinion for others to see and consider.

Look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Cheers! Sarah. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

One awesome night on the island was a big tease.... had a great time fishing snorkeling and a few to many beers by the pool loved it!

Definitely coming back next year I'd recommend a trip to mackerel island

Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay, the team who run this place are all fantastic, thoughtful, and very cheerful. The beach cottage was very well equipped and very comfortable with great views. An amazing spot, crystal clear water, lots of marine life- in one day we saw whales, dolphins, turtles, Rays and plenty of fish. Great snorkelling too. We felt like we had the whole island to ourselves , yet there were other guests staying. Use if SUP boards , canoes and fishing rods was also appreciated.

Thank dnc005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, marketing at Mackerel Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Thanks dnc005, huge appreciation for your review.
See you one day again soon!

Best wishes,
Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Staff were outstanding, Rooms were nice and clean, friendly and relaxing over the island even if the weather blew up so fishing was a bit hard to do, have been a local to Onslow for the last 2 years and have never been over to the Island, now our fishing adventures will be a lot shorter, recommend for both locals and anyone coming to or stopping in Onslow, Would Highly recommend Peter/Jade/Karly/Franky/Ark and Simmo, Even arrived over the Island and someone was waiting there ready to take excess luggage. 5 Star for service. We'll be back!

Thank Shaygaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2016

One of the best fishing trips ever. We were luck with great weather and the water was crystal clear.
An amazing place. We didn't want to go home.

Thank tpetrickovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Marketing at Mackerel Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Hi tpetrickovic,

Glad you had an awesome trip! Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. Look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mackerel Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing