We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating little piece of history”

Eyam Plague Village Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Find out about Bubonic Plague in the Peak District village where it killed over a third of the population in 1665- 1666. Learn about the black rats, the fleas that carried the disease, and see the stories of the families it affected. Understand how the village recovered afterwards.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

If you have any interest in the Black Plague in England, definitely stop. This museum tells the story of how this little village quarantined itself to prevent the spread of the plague. A very large percentage of its brave population died, but they save others.

The museum is small and run by volunteers. THEY DO NOT ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS, CASH ONLY. So be prepared. I carry little cash with me, so was unable to buy much at the gift shop due to this surprising inability of the museum to accept credit cards.

But the visit was worth it. The video they show is quite informative, as are the museum's displays.

Thank ptglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette S, Manager at Eyam Plague Village Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review.
We will be accepting cards from July, when we get a card machine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 62 reviews
"the cottages"
in 15 reviews
"short film"
in 14 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 15 reviews
"information boards"
in 21 reviews
"first world war"
in 21 reviews
"free car park"
in 15 reviews
"village museum"
in 15 reviews
"small building"
in 6 reviews
"local history"
in 12 reviews
"pay and display"
in 8 reviews
"across the road"
in 6 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 6 reviews
"family ticket"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
"personal stories"
in 6 reviews
"per adult"
in 7 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Very informative, bigger than it looks. Lots of reading involved so not suitable for young children, video shown which was excellent

Thank Suie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette S, Manager at Eyam Plague Village Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

we visited this great little museum today.At £2.50 it was excellent value for money.staff were very friendly and informative all are volunteers .There was an exhibition about the plague and also one about how the village was affected by world war one which was excellent. It took us about an hour to go round and we both enjoyed it very much.

1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette S, Manager at Eyam Plague Village Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are very lucky to have so many lovely volunteers that keep the museum open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

After a week in the Peak District, we made Eyam Hall, Eyam Village & Eyam Plague Village Museum our itinerary for the last half day before heading home. None of us were disappointed, we all loved it! Having started off with a tour of Eyam Hall, we emerged to wander around the stunning little village of Eyam. Each of the cottages, whose stories were at the centre of the epidemic, have informative little plaques outside. The story of suffering and loss itself is very sad, however, the village gives a more positive vibe with the courage and selflessness shown by the community of villagers in their attempt to prevent the spread of disease, and when seeing the buildings very much lived in today with the sense that life does indeed go on many centuries later. We then moved on to the little plague museum itself. The museum may seem little from the outside but it is much bigger inside. After a short introductory film, we wandered around the displays with a wealth of information. The children each had different age relevant quizzes to do too which were available at the front desk. The little shop at the end of the museum has some lovely little gifts and I was lucky enough to purchase one of their cute hand crocheted rat bookmarks from the display behind the till (it's always worth an ask!). We all wish we had more time to take absolutely everything in, but we thoroughly enjoyed our time there and all five of us want to go back soon.

Thank Vikkie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette S, Manager at Eyam Plague Village Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. I hope you do manage to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Unfortunately we did not have time to explore the whole village, hopefully we will be back in the area in the Summer. The museum was very inexpensive to look round and it was full of interesting facts and real life stories of the victims of the plague. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette S, Manager at Eyam Plague Village Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you. I hope you are able to come back to the village over the next few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eyam Plague Village Museum also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Eyam Plague Village Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing