We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house by the sea in Westward Ho! for large...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Dining room.
Kitchen.
Sitting room with log-burner.
Upper decking area, fantastic view and great dining, relaxation space.
Downstairs double bedroom with en-suite.
Twin bedroom 3 upstairs
Family bathroom with freestanding bath and separate shower
2nd double bedroom (upstairs) with balcony access and sea views
Master bedroom with balcony access.
Master bedroom with balcony access.
Sunset from the balcony
Very private, sheltered sun-trap on decking at bottom of garden.
View towards house from decking at bottom of garden
High tide on the Pebble Ridge, just a 10 minute walk from the house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Westward Ho, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
floridavi...
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely house by the sea in Westward Ho! for large families”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Having been in Westward Ho! for a week, I think anybody would struggle to find a better place to stay which can accommodate large families with a relaxed and homely feel.

Views of the bay from the back garden, nicely decorated, barbecue in the back garden, plenty of deck chairs etc. Lovely views from the veranda accessible from the top bedrooms.

One or two great places to eat out - the Pier is one of them, and I'd recommend paying them a visit. The amusements - go karts etc were great for the kids. By far the best bit was the beach and the kids thoroughly enjoying themselves bodyboarding - which they could do safely becuase of the lifeguards.

Although I did not have the pleasure to meet the owner (Ed) and the family, they were easy to comunicate with, and clearly wanted us to have a great time on holiday - which we did.

Thank you Ed and your family for letting us stay in your lovely house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
I’m so pleased you enjoyed such a fantastic holiday and Westward Ho! Beach House suited your needs so well. Thanks so much for all your positive comments. We would welcome you back at our house anytime. Many thanks. Ed and Lucy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystle C
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family house in great location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a fantastic stay at this house. The photos and description really do not do it justice. The house itself is spacious with a fantastic living area and as previous reviewer mentions, great for families with young children as you can shut the double doors into the living area to ensure little ones get a good nights sleep. It was really helpful to have a bedroom with en suite downstairs as this really gives some additional peace and quiet to the grandparents!
All the bedrooms are so spacious and plenty of room for cots etc. For us (we had 3 two year old, a fours year old and an 11 year old) we loved the range of boards games and toys for all age ranges. The adults loved the play station and games, the little ones loved all the toys and the play kitchen!
The kitchen is really well arranged (better equipped than my kitchen at home) and has the most beautiful views. Plenty of space for everyone to sit down to eat - 4 dining chairs, 2 large benches and 3 stools at the counter. We ate in every day and you can comfortably cook for 12+. There is a large fridge and freezer (We had a tesco shop delivered on arrival). We even made use of the washing machine and returned home with no laundry!
The outside space was great, the decking has fantastic views and a sand pit which the little ones loved. There is also grass space and further seating area at the bottom of the garden next to the pizza oven and bbq (we used both)
Westward Ho! itself was lovely and we hope to return. Plenty to do without being overwhelmed, kids loved the area by the beach with go karts. We also went the The Waterfront Inn several times when it rained as they have a great free indoor soft play area. Kids loved rock pooling and next time we hope to make use of the sea pool.
We would really recommend this rental, its a great price for the size and is made very special by the extra touches from the owner such as toys and pizza oven. There is also a large Tesco express by the beach.
Finally the owner Ed has been so helpful and welcoming throughout the planning of the trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house!
Liked least: The hills!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thanks for a fantastic review and we're really pleased to hear you had such at good week at the Beach House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K8lee
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I am usually one of those people who always reads reviews but never bothers to write one. So when this beach house in Westward Ho! didn't have any reviews or its own website, I was cautious. I'm so glad we took a punt on it! The photos don't do it justice at all.

We stayed for a week with 2 other families. There were 6 adults, 3 babies and a 10yr old. The house was perfect for this kind of holiday. We weren't on top of each other at all and once the doors to the wonderful large open plan living space were closed, the kids didn't hear us socialising in the evenings.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather so we made the most of the bbq and pizza oven at the end of the garden. The baby monitors reached down there too.

The local area has so much to offer. Go Karts for the Dads and massages at a hotel up the road, for the Mums. The beach was great for the kids and Westward Ho! is ideally located to explore the rest of Devon's tourist spots.

Ed and his family have put a lot of love into their beautiful home. I can't recommend it enough....and I am a fussy madam!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Very glad you had a fantastic holiday and really pleased to hear you enjoyed the Beach House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing