We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milburn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Breakfast on Bed (Bed included but Breakfast down to you)
Philosophical House Rules - you must obey!
Celebration times come on!
Its wine o'clock (but there's a kettle too for Tea Totallers)
Romantic Hideaway
En-suite with shower & heated towel rail (be careful when touching your toes in the morning)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bellingham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stronty
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accommodation”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend to visit the area and do some walking. We didn't fancy B&B and were looking for something a little bit different and of good quality - well, we found it!
GF is an open plan kitchen and lounge and 1F a large double bedroom with en-suite shower room. All renovated to a high standard and with a bit of quality and style in terms of the interior finishes.
We used this as a base to explore Hadrian's Wall, Keilder Water/Forest, Hexham/Corbridge and the surrounding area. Beautiful part of the World and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Met Maxine the owner at the end of our stay and she and her husband are lovely people.
Need I say more?!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was really nice meeting you and we hope that you will return at some point in the future to explore further in Northumberland.
Maxine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wamonn
2 reviews
“Beautiful Bolthole”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The Old Workshop was one of the cosiest and most comfortable cottages we have ever stayed in. Needed to recharge our batteries and we were not disappointed, especially the fabulous bed. Maxine kindly made sure we had everything we needed and offered much needed advice on where to eat and things to do. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
Thankyou for your lovely. So glad you were comfortable and got the rest you wanted. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards
Maxine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. So glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KirstyC26
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely little cottage in a nice, peaceful village. The Old Workshop was just perfect for our trip away to Northumberland, lovely and cosy with everything in it that we needed and beautifully decorated.

Good food in the Cheviot Hotel as well as tasty sausage rolls and cakes in the bakery!

Maxine was friendly and helpful if we needed anything.

Would definitely return if in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous quiet hideaway”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Workshop doesn't disappoint - tucked away in a quiet location but in the heart of Bellingham on the edge of Kielder Water and Forest, it is immaculate.
We loved the peace and quiet, a rest from our busy city lives.
The finish is superb on all fixtures and fittings, the bedroom is big with a lovely comfortable bed and the softest of covers.
En suite bathroom is great with a powerful shower, would have loved a bath after a busy day walking and exploring, but this is a minor point!
Maxine was available if needed, but left us to enjoy our fabulous holiday in a beautiful location.
5 out of 5.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the interior
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
So glad you had a great time. Thankyou for your lovely review. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing