We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a quiet getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milburn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Breakfast on Bed (Bed included but Breakfast down to you)
Philosophical House Rules - you must obey!
Celebration times come on!
Its wine o'clock (but there's a kettle too for Tea Totallers)
Romantic Hideaway
En-suite with shower & heated towel rail (be careful when touching your toes in the morning)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bellingham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FatBetty9...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet getaway”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fab wee time staying in this gorgeous place. Only stayed for two days but could defo stayed on for a few more. So quiet n relaxing! Can't fault this place...was immaculate n perfect for a couple. The bed sheets are to die for n having Netflix was perfect for at night :) only one thing I'd change is the seating....a corner couch would have been perfect to cuddle up on however the wee window seat is just the cutest :) if staying here defo take a walk up Hareshaw Linn waterfall..so lovely. Also Kielder is like 25 mins drive away. So relaxing wish we were still there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: The hot water ran out in the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely weekend away staying at The Old Workshop - literally could not fault it!

Maxine, the owner, was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and the location is extremely convenient.

I would not hesitate in recommending the cottage and I definitely hope to return! Thanks Maxine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Dear Kimberley, thank you so much for your very kind appreciation of The Old Workshop. We do work hard to make sure that the cottage is in excellent order for each of our guests and it is always so encouraging to hear back that you have had a good time whilst staying with us. Hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Maxine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to the old workshop and we were equally as impressed. The cottage is immaculate and beautifully decorated. Everything is provided which makes it so easy to pack!
The owners left us a bottle of wine and a ginger cake which was so appreciated and made our weekend even more special!
We spent the weekend relaxing, the local pup serves gorgeous food and there's a lovely Chinese takeaway up the road.
We look forward to returning again in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Dear Nichola,
So glad you enjoyed your second visit just as much.
I look forward to seeing you again.
KInd regards
Maxine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMac9...
Lincoln, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great base for a long weekend in Northumberland”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Old Workshop for 3 nights while we enjoyed the sights of Northumberland. it is finished to a very high standard, warm and cosy and very good value for money. Bellingham is ideally situated to explore the region and The Old Workshop was the perfect base to do it from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The bed was slightly soft for our taste
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Lytham St Annes
2 reviews
“Petite but perfect luxury accomodation in wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Right in centre of the lovely little town of Bellingham with parking at the front door. Good food shops for self catering. Owner lives next door and couldn't be more helpful.
Delightful lounge and integrated small kitchen area with everything you need. Comfortable lounge. Upstairs is the most elegant large bedroom with small ensuite. The king size bed is very comfortable with beautiful linen.
True 5 star accommodation. Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing