We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
264
277
83
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
277
83
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cricket field swimming pool superior room both nights patio doors bar menu some tlc main building changing rooms garden room night break north tyne bit dated hareshaw linn wine list beautiful countryside northumberland national park
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016

My Wife and I celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary in March and booked a break in a Hotel for two days. It was a disaster. A soulless Hotel and the food was atrocious. We came home, very downcast and felt cheated.

We were determined to have a good celebration so we surfed the net and came up with the The Riverdale Hall Country house Hotel. Having had one disappointment we hoped this Hotel would do the trick.

The welcome at Reception was very good and we were escorted to our room, our luggage being carried for us (no lift). The room was spacious, en suite bathroom and a sliding door leading to our balcony with views overlooking the beautiful countryside.

For our meal in the evening I ordered sirloin steak with all the trimmings and my Wife ordered pink lamb rump. Both cuts of meat were tender, tasty and really enjoyable. Portions are not small. The bar staff and waitresses were friendly and polite and fellow guests added to the atmosphere. Our meals the following night were equally good with the same excellent service. Breakfasts are really good with fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast with so many variations on the breakfast theme. Do not forget the swimming pool which is a reasonable size. Staff members Tabitha, Jessica, rugby playing Maisie and Gemma gave a fantastic service as did all staff members. This break made up for our disappointment the previous month. Anything to complain about? No but more water pressure in the shower would increase guests' pleasure.

Would we go again - most definitely cannot wait to taste the food again.

Val and Bryan

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

The staff are friendly and our room was clean and well decorated with a relaxing view over the cricket pitch to the river and trees beyond. Our evening meal was superb, obviously prepared by skillful chefs. This is a great base for visiting the observatory, Kielder and beautiful Northumberland.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ConradWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We have just returned from a two day break at this wonderful hotel. Everything about it was excellent...the food both in the restaurant and in the bar was top class, our balcony room (10) was wonderful , and finally the staff were fabulous. There is also a swimming pool and sauna for guests to use. We will definitely be returning soon.

Room tip: Rooms 8,9,10,11 have balconies and overlook the grounds and the river
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OurKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We booked this hotel on a Wowcher deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. When I rang up to book the lady I spoke to was extremely friendly and helpful and I received a comprehensive booking confirmation immediately.

On arrival the staff were very welcoming and explained everything then took us to our room. We were amazed at the beautiful view overlooking the field and river. However the rest of the room was very old fashioned and decorated in yellow and wood. Although very outdated, it actually added to the quaintness of the hotel.

The bathroom was small and seemed unfinished as grouting and tiling were missing. The bath was extremely small and the shower was of extremely low pressure that washing my hair proved very difficult which could probably be improved by removing the flow restrictors if these are installed.

We took advantage of the pool which was lovely and warm and a nice extra for an overnight stay. The changing rooms were very cold however and there was nowhere to store your belongings. A minor improvement could be made here?

The dinner was amazing! We both upgraded to prawn cocktails for starters which were delicious as was the main course; pork belly with apple and black pudding with a side serving of vegetables. Both portions were generous and delicious. We couldn't manage a dessert!

Unfortunately we weren't very impressed with breakfast the following day. We waited quite a while to be served and although we both ordered English breakfasts, the hash browns were missing. When we asked about this the waitress told us they didn't have any and offered us fried bread instead. By this time we had finished our breakfasts and declined but this should have been offered when we first ordered our breakfast. We were never offered any refills on coffee either but other guests were.

I rate this hotel 4/5 as the service from most of the staff was excellent and the hotel had a homely feel to it. The rooms offered fantastic views and the restaurant's dinner was lovely. I think if the rooms were refreshed and the bathroom/showert improved it would improve the hotel standard. All in all, a lovely night away!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

In a delightful setting and staffed by friendly, helpful people it was disappointing to find a shabby (though clean) and sparsely furnished room on the ground floor with Windows almost to floor level affording no privacy in the way of blinds or net curtains. The bathroom was unbelievably poky, yet seemed to be offering some kind of "disabled facility". Anybody going into it forwards would have the devil of a job if they had to manoeuvre any kind of mobility aid to reverse on to the toilet which barely fitted behind the bathroom door. There was nothing to assist anyone in any way into the bath....and the tiniest towel rail which would accommodate only one person's towels. There was no hair dryer provided.

Room tip: Wheelchair access to bathroom in room 19, which is on the ground floor would be impossible. No hand rails to bath or over bath shower.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews