We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarahlilly
Taupo

Run Down Camp

Review of Tapu Motor Camp
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2021
Amenities are old and outdated, often showers were cold, cleaning not up to standard in busy summer months, shower floors and walls are grose. Kitchens are so old and not maintained. Toilets are below average, old and dingy! Staff are often rude and lack the qualities of a good customer services provider. The Camp Manager lacks integrity and can often be found wandering around looking for something to complain about or to wreck someone's day. A campground with real potential but run incompetently, no money is put back into the camp, rental caravans are poorly maintained. Nothing for kids. No pets unless you grease the Camp Manager. Never really felt safe at night, lots of undesirables around.
Date of stay: May 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • eDreams
9.1 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seasonal pool (October to April)
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $124
  • Booking.com
14.4 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
17.5 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free parking
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
30.8 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
27.5 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.5 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.2 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.0 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tapu
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
8
2
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
8
2
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Like going back to a more simple time.
We took our caravan and for $35 a nite for two of us was excellent value.
Its rustic, its a fishing camp, The showers were powerful and hot.
You are well away from the road, and next to the sea. Lovely spot.
The pub across the road offered excellent meals at very reasonable prices.
The hosts were friendly and accommodating, as were the other campers.
We'll be back.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Daytourer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Stayed in a cabin (caravan with annexe). Prices on the website were incorrect to what reception staff told us. Caravan floor was weak in some parts, ready to collapse. Broken window that couldn't be opened on a hot summers day, mattresses were thin foam, so sleeping on a wooden bed. Dirty state of room with insects, kitchen pipe overflowing, and plates/cutlery still dirty (Cleaner hadn't done a check, don't think they ever do). General communcal facilities very old and not sanitised well with no double checking. Late checkout confirmed, but not communicated to Cleaning staff on the day. The cleaning lady was EXTREMELY abrupt and rude telling us to get out or she'd throw our stuff out. Yelled abuse to us in front of children and made them feel very scared. Extremely disgusting behaviour but clearly the accepted culture of staff who live and work onsite. She mustn't have had her meth for that day cos she looked like she was going to kill someone. Never again will I stay at such an unprofessional campsite that lacks care of PAYING customers and no intention of ever changing the mindset of actually running a business. Stayed at other old campsites before but nothing like what we experienced. NEVER AGAIN.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank dorris_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2019

We stayed 5 nights and the dump station was overflowing the whole time. Needed emptying. Showers were cold. General state of disrepair and disinterest by management I would say. Come on guys get your team together and clean this beautiful spot up.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Journey813918
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2019

Most times we have been given the Bach we request and love that this camp is close to all the places we want to go. Always enjoy our stay here and the view is beautiful. We have a few times found the staff at the pub quite rude which puts us off going there but thumbs up to Tapu Motor Camp.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for a night. 50 cents for 5 mins hot shower, absolutely amazing ,they've got everything you need,kitchen, fridge ,cooker,spacious campground, facing a beautiful sea. Oh, how could I forget, the beautiful sunset and sunrise 😍

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank YanJunP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews