We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hibbardb
Bristol, United Kingdom

Sweet spot by the river

Review of Tapu Motor Camp
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2016
We camped here. Very informal set-up but facilities were good, with a nice hot shower. There's a pizza oven which would be interesting to try out. It was really pleasant to sit by the river on a long summer's evening.
Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free parking
Restaurant
$136
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.1 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seasonal pool (October to April)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $41
  • Priceline
14.4 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
17.5 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free parking
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
30.8 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
27.5 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.5 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.2 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.0 km from Tapu Motor Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tapu
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
8
2
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
8
2
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We spent a night here last week while travelling around the Thames area. Lovely small camp with friendly lady in camp office/store.
We were lucky to get a site that overlooked the river and ocean and was also opposite the toilet block. Older style set up and shower walls were a bit rough. But more than made up for by the hot water and the fantastic pressure. Showers cost 50c but I found the time more than enough to wash and condition hair and also have a reasonable length shower. Very clean toilet area.
There is a small fish cleaning station, very handy as we had just come from fishing a little further down the road. As it was dark we had to use a torch, as no light in this area.
Camp is across the road from the Royal Oak Hotel, handy if you would like to go out for a drink.
Nice to have a concrete pad to park the motorhome on. Not sure if all sites were like this or not.
We'd stay here again, great spot, near good fishing and not far from Thames for shopping etc. Though the road is quite windy and narrow in parts for a larger motorhome like ours. Still a good trip to take.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights. Nice and relaxing right on the waterfront. We were there for New Years as well. Hot water did run low and hand drier in ladies not working. Pub over the road you can get takeaways. Was nice to be so close on the sea. We did enjoy. Fine for 4 days. I thought $15.00 a night per adult on non powered site was reasonable. It was Xmas time and they had all the facilities you needed. So yes would visit again.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Littledonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Tapu Camp recently. A group of us spent 2 nights there - the boys went fishing and the girls spent the day exploring the surrounding Tapu area and further up the picturesque Thames coast to Coromandel Town. What a drive! The drive to Tapu from Thames is stunning too with an amazing coastline.

We found the camp facilities to be very clean overall as well - it was obvious they were cleaned regularly during our stay. The showers had good water pressure and were nice and hot.

The pub across the road is like stepping back in time to a classic pub - it has real character. The meals are affordable and a good size - good value for money. We experienced good service too. The boys were late back fishing so they accommodated us turning up late wanting meals.

Our cabin and caravan were clean and tidy. The best part was the waterfront location - it was great waking up to sea views.

Overall, our stay at Tapu Camp was an affordable and fun winter weekend away. Hopefully we'll be able to make it back over summer!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 337olivial
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We took some international guests from the UK down to stay at Tapu Motor Camp as we’d heard it was an idyllic kiwi spot. The beaches on the Firth that far down aren’t as pretty as the beaches further north but are swimmable and the estuary is good for stand up paddle boarding. The camp ground was packed and we were on an extra bit of land which I believe belongs to a school. The kitchens are pretty run down with just a skody sink and hobb, that’s pretty much it, take your own cooker. The bathrooms are pretty grotty, my partner and I both paid for a shower (wear shoes) and each time the showers had run out of hot water which is a bit stink when you’re paying. There are water taps everywhere but no signs to advise you to boil the water first, lucky we checked with the staff. This place attracts the salt of the earth who all seem to go for the fishing and shellfish collecting and they party till late. If you’re looking for R & R and somewhere a bit nice, this is not the place to go.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelissaSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We've stayed in a lot of camping ground, but this one was revolting!! There were rats everywhere, cabins were of ill repair. Staff were friendly until we advised them how filthy our cabin was (rubbish from previous tenants, mould, dust, ants etc) & then they changed their tune. The pub staff over the road were equally as bad - the worst customer service ever experienced in our own country.

Date of stay: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sturmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews