We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Patrick P
Papamoa, New Zealand
Beautiful, tranquil and peaceful gardens - incredible hosts
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2019via mobile
After 10 years living on the Coromandel Peninsula, we finally decided to explore the gardens. What an idyllic place, carefully maintained, nested in the native bushes. Were followed by ducks and when we sat down for a cool beer we were surprised by a plate of delicious bruschette... just so we don‘t have to leave hungry. The family business shows how much passion and care is put into treating guests and nature with love!
The venue was just preparing for a wedding - what a place to celebrate such a special day! The menu looks inspiring, prices are very fair - the giftshop has a very cute selection of „things“.
We will definitely be back - wonderful hosts in an amazing place! Thanks a lot!
Date of stay: December 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • eDreams
8.3 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
16.7 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free parking
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.1 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.7 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
18.8 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
23.1 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of our charming 1-bedroom Cottages nestled in our gardens.
Contact accommodation for availability.
23.5 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
24.0 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
24.8 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tapu
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

We can't begin to describe how wonderful our stay here in your little paradise. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with lovely smiles. Sally is personable and accomodating. The food in the cafe was very good. The steak sandwich and Butterscotch Sundae were to die for! Sacha, you're such an excellent chef! Sally gave us a lovely tour of the cottage. It is perfect - tantalisingly beautiful! The garden is just booming with lushness everywhere you look. The walk to the waterfalls was such a lovely experience. It was peaceful and relaxing - something that we miss living in the city. We enjoyed the ducks - cute and entertaining. In the evening, Sacha came in to start the fire in the hearth. Thank you, Sacha, for making the cottage warm. Thank you both very much for your kind and thoughtful hospitality! We appreciate it greatly. All the best!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aotearoa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2019

This isn't a review of any accommodation but the gardens themselves.

These gardens are lovely and well worth a visit. The peaceful forest walk up to the waterfalls and the gardens were fantastic. Plenty to see and enjoy. It won't be a long visit but I'm pleased we went.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I3672PTalanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2019

We have been here several times but while staying with a friend in Whitianga decided to visit again. Our friend had never been but loved the visit--only sad thing no waterlilies at the time of our visit. The lower garden as usual very beautifully kept and an easy stroll around Plenty of places for those who like me are finding walking difficult to stop sit and admire. We then went on to tackle the walk up to the falls. The other two left me behind while they forged ahead up the steps. I took the climb at a slower pace. Well worth the trek and good to sit up there and contemplate the peace and beauty. Might I suggest more sears for weary climbers to rest on the way up and shallower steps? We saw the ducks what a lot of different breeds they have -I would have loved to bring some home to join the mallards & domestic ducks we already have. A wonderful place to walk for all ages but if bringing children to make sure they are well behaved and don't spoil the serenity of the gardens. After we had done our walking we went into their restaurant to have lunch all wholesome homecooked food --cooked by the Chef to your taste. We had soup --on offer large or small portions. My husband and our friend had large portions with large bread loaf hot straight from the oven while I had a small portion with a small loaf again straight from the oven. There is ice cream and an extensive list of teas & coffees to chose from.
The approach along the Coroglen road is dusty and twisty but used as a through road from Thames to Whitianga. Go and enjoy

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pelizabethcutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2019

We loved these gardens and particularly the food in the cafe/restaurant. Rapaura is 6km off the road from Coromandel to Thames (about 30 mins from Thames) and is well worth a visit. The water gardens give off such a peaceful and gentle atmosphere. There weren't a lot of flowers when we were there but there was so much different greenery in the ferns, shrubs and trees it didn't matter. The paths are easy walking and there is also a walk through the natural bush to the cascades. The food at the cafe was excellent. I had sole which had been caught that morning and it was just delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were very friendly and I just hope more people visit this site.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Kizzmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

We just loved the tranquility and harmonious feel of Raparua Watergardens. Although we visited at the end of summer, when there were fewer flowers, the shades of green in the foliage of the tree ferns, rata trees and all the vegetation were lovely. A stroll around the gardens is accompanied by the sound of water everywhere you walk, and the short hike up to the waterfalls was well worth it. Our cottage was very comfortable and beautifully presented and we wished we could have stayed more than one night. Thank you to Sally and Sasha for the warm welcome and the experience.

Room tip: A choice of 2: a lodge or a cottage for 2. Be happy to go offline for some time-out from your techie stuff.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews