We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Richard C
Gloucester, United Kingdom

Peaceful and tranquil

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2014
We had a 3 day stay in early February. A lovely quiet place in native bush. The cottage is equipped to a very high standard, and is very spacious.
Sally and her son were not intrusive but regularly checked to make sure we had everything we needed. They provided eggs, cereals, bread, marmalade for our arrival. On 1 night they provided us a meal from their restaurant for us to finish cooking in our cottage. It was huge and lovely.
The gardens are also lovely and it is a treat to be able to explore them in solitude after closing time.
Forget access to the modern world. There is no TV or internet, but there is a CD player for music.
Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$650
  • Expedia.com
    $650
  • Agoda.com
    $568
  • Priceline
    $594
6.2 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$98
  • Priceline
    $98
6.4 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $136
  • Hotels.com
    $149
6.6 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Expedia.com
    $160
13.3 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seasonal pool (October to April)
$96
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Expedia.com
    $41
  • Agoda.com
    $125
13.5 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Family room, sleeps 4
$244
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
    $244
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
14.0 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
15.0 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $181
  • eDreams
    $181
  • Agoda.com
15.6 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$148
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $148
  • Vio.com
    $148
  • eDreams
    $148
17.1 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$219
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Vio.com
    $219
  • StayForLong
17.2 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tapu
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is our second stay in over a year in this dreamy retreat. Clean and beautifully furnitured and decorated from the proprietor's collections, we really didn't want to leave for our daily excursions! Gardens are peaceful and enjoying a cup of tea surrounded by a panorama of trees was my favourite ritual throughout the stay. Other members of the family enjoyed litting up some flames in the amazingly clean fireplace. We were provided with a fresh baked loaf of herbal bread as well as free range eggs and some other ingredients for a full continental breakfast. Dinner could be arranged at Koru for one night (they arent usually open so late). The soup is a definite must try! Make sure you have an empty stomach, as the portions are big. If u have some space left at the end try the butterscotch ice cream! I look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is well worth the 15 minute drive off the beaten path. Lovely café is very lunch-worthy, and the gardens and waterfall are very worthy of at least an hour to walk about and enjoy. If it's warm weather, do take your swim trunks, find a tree to change behind, and enjoy the nice little pool at the falls.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We found this almost by accident as we left Thames, and spent a couple of very enjoyable relaxing hours here. Stroll through the water gardens on good paths, linger by the large lily pond and if you have time take the 15 minute walk (some uphill) to view the waterfall. You will leave feeling refreshed, and there is a good café onsite too. When you leave you can take an unsealed road over the Coromandel forest. The drive is a little challenging but fine for a 4WD just take it easy as you might meet a few logging trucks coming the other way - the views are amazing though!

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We hit upon Rapaura quite by chance as we crossed the Coromandels on the dusty road to Tapu. And what a treat it was. Not just the beautiful walks and the gorgeous waterfalls, but also a superbly appointed cabin with everything we could want including lovely music (there is no TV). And the best part was the dinner they provided for us to cook on the BBQ. Quite superb steaks and all the bits and pieces. A real delight , peaceful, comfortable and hospitable.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickRieulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A tranquil beautiful place to spend a few days at. We ( 2 couples) stayed at the well appointed lodge. It feels like you are staying in a luxury tree hut with views out above the gardens and we loved watching the woodpidgeon and tui's feed from the nearby kowhai tree.

The gardens are wonderful to lesiurely wander through and the walk up to the waterfalls through the bush, absolutely worth it. I enjoyed getting up early in the morning and having the garden to myself and the ducks.

Sasha and Sally are lovely hosts. Dam good coffee for sure, and the chocolate cake - fabulous.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyJennyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews