We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nick259
Kent, England

Spend a couple of relaxing hours here

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2013
We found this almost by accident as we left Thames, and spent a couple of very enjoyable relaxing hours here. Stroll through the water gardens on good paths, linger by the large lily pond and if you have time take the 15 minute walk (some uphill) to view the waterfall. You will leave feeling refreshed, and there is a good café onsite too. When you leave you can take an unsealed road over the Coromandel forest. The drive is a little challenging but fine for a 4WD just take it easy as you might meet a few logging trucks coming the other way - the views are amazing though!
Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $712
  • Booking.com
6.2 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$142
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $142
6.6 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$154
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
13.3 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seasonal pool (October to April)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $40
  • eDreams
13.5 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
16.7 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free parking
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.1 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.7 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
18.8 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
23.1 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
23.5 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tapu
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We hit upon Rapaura quite by chance as we crossed the Coromandels on the dusty road to Tapu. And what a treat it was. Not just the beautiful walks and the gorgeous waterfalls, but also a superbly appointed cabin with everything we could want including lovely music (there is no TV). And the best part was the dinner they provided for us to cook on the BBQ. Quite superb steaks and all the bits and pieces. A real delight , peaceful, comfortable and hospitable.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickRieulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A tranquil beautiful place to spend a few days at. We ( 2 couples) stayed at the well appointed lodge. It feels like you are staying in a luxury tree hut with views out above the gardens and we loved watching the woodpidgeon and tui's feed from the nearby kowhai tree.

The gardens are wonderful to lesiurely wander through and the walk up to the waterfalls through the bush, absolutely worth it. I enjoyed getting up early in the morning and having the garden to myself and the ducks.

Sasha and Sally are lovely hosts. Dam good coffee for sure, and the chocolate cake - fabulous.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyJennyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stopped here on our way back from a weekend in The Coromandel. It was highly recommended by the folks at the I-site. We only ordered coffees and cake as they had a large party in for a birthday lunch and seemed a bit overwhelmed. The staff seemed stretched and harassed and we felt we were adding to their stress. They did apologise for our delay (it wasn't even that long to be honest and if they hadn't made a point to tell us how busy they were, we wouldn't have noticed!). Sadly one couple walked out but were beckoned back to enjoy their lunch. The coffee was fab and the cakes amazing, would like to try the lunch next time. The gardens are beautiful, the walk to the waterfall a must. I think we stumbled by at a busy time, will be back for a 2nd visit I'm sure.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We didn't stay at the accommodation here - but thought this place deserved a mention just for the pretty walk and the fantastic lunch we had there. If you think the price of the walk is a little pricey - I would still recommend the 10 min or so drive along the gravel road to have lunch there. The chef is passionate about his food and was very friendly & helpful. He's won awards for his beef - which prompted my husband to try his open steak sandwich - which he thought was one of the best steak meals he has had anywhere in the world...he loved it. I had the spicy kumara soup - which was very very good. Food was top quality, beautifully presented - and it was such a lovely setting to have a meal - we sat outside, surrounded by native bush and the sound of birds in the trees...a really beautiful setting. There is a small gift shop, and the walk past the big lily-filled ponds up through native bush to the waterfalls is worthwhile if you haven't spent all your money on their delicious food.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This accommodation is a perfect getaway from the noise of the city. Tranquil, natural and different, it will make your weekend perfect. Thumbs up to the hosts who have put a huge amount of effort to maintain the place after a number of floods.
It is situated close to a variety of walks if you're keen on hiking. Great coffee in Waiomu Beach Cafe as well.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews