We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Patrick M
Rieulet

A lucky break

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2012
We hit upon Rapaura quite by chance as we crossed the Coromandels on the dusty road to Tapu. And what a treat it was. Not just the beautiful walks and the gorgeous waterfalls, but also a superbly appointed cabin with everything we could want including lovely music (there is no TV). And the best part was the dinner they provided for us to cook on the BBQ. Quite superb steaks and all the bits and pieces. A real delight , peaceful, comfortable and hospitable.
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$650
  • Expedia.com
    $650
  • Agoda.com
    $540
  • Hotels.com
    $650
6.2 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$98
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $149
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $149
6.6 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $160
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $160
13.3 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seasonal pool (October to April)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $46
  • Priceline
13.5 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Family room, sleeps 4
$244
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
14.0 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
15.0 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $181
15.6 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$148
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $148
17.1 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $219
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $219
17.2 km from Rapaura Water Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tapu
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
12
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A tranquil beautiful place to spend a few days at. We ( 2 couples) stayed at the well appointed lodge. It feels like you are staying in a luxury tree hut with views out above the gardens and we loved watching the woodpidgeon and tui's feed from the nearby kowhai tree.

The gardens are wonderful to lesiurely wander through and the walk up to the waterfalls through the bush, absolutely worth it. I enjoyed getting up early in the morning and having the garden to myself and the ducks.

Sasha and Sally are lovely hosts. Dam good coffee for sure, and the chocolate cake - fabulous.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyJennyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stopped here on our way back from a weekend in The Coromandel. It was highly recommended by the folks at the I-site. We only ordered coffees and cake as they had a large party in for a birthday lunch and seemed a bit overwhelmed. The staff seemed stretched and harassed and we felt we were adding to their stress. They did apologise for our delay (it wasn't even that long to be honest and if they hadn't made a point to tell us how busy they were, we wouldn't have noticed!). Sadly one couple walked out but were beckoned back to enjoy their lunch. The coffee was fab and the cakes amazing, would like to try the lunch next time. The gardens are beautiful, the walk to the waterfall a must. I think we stumbled by at a busy time, will be back for a 2nd visit I'm sure.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We didn't stay at the accommodation here - but thought this place deserved a mention just for the pretty walk and the fantastic lunch we had there. If you think the price of the walk is a little pricey - I would still recommend the 10 min or so drive along the gravel road to have lunch there. The chef is passionate about his food and was very friendly & helpful. He's won awards for his beef - which prompted my husband to try his open steak sandwich - which he thought was one of the best steak meals he has had anywhere in the world...he loved it. I had the spicy kumara soup - which was very very good. Food was top quality, beautifully presented - and it was such a lovely setting to have a meal - we sat outside, surrounded by native bush and the sound of birds in the trees...a really beautiful setting. There is a small gift shop, and the walk past the big lily-filled ponds up through native bush to the waterfalls is worthwhile if you haven't spent all your money on their delicious food.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This accommodation is a perfect getaway from the noise of the city. Tranquil, natural and different, it will make your weekend perfect. Thumbs up to the hosts who have put a huge amount of effort to maintain the place after a number of floods.
It is situated close to a variety of walks if you're keen on hiking. Great coffee in Waiomu Beach Cafe as well.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We felt so lucky to have found Rapaura (thanks to Tripadvisor) and spent a wonderful week there. The lodge is much more gorgeous than than the photos - a relaxed charm with interesting art work and collectables everywhere. It has an Asian/Bali feel and is extremely spacious. Being one level up, we looked over the most beautiful gardens through the trees. It was totally private and quiet - the only noises being the stream and birds. Self catering suited us and it was the perfect place to relax after energetic walks in the Coromandel area. It's remote - with no wifi, mobile signal, nearby shops - but if that's what you're after you couldn't do better. The restaurant in the Gardens, which opens during the day, wasn't yet open for the summer season - but gearing up to open and we saw their delicious menu. Breakfast supplies were provided. The owner Sally and her son Sacha were charming and helpful but never intrusive. We plan to return!

Room tip: The Lodge is better than the cottage and probably worth the extra $'s
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews