We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish and cozy hotel at the great course”

Golf Club Castelconturbia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Designed by Robert Trent Jones SR, has always been considered one of his most successful courses in Europe. Spread over an uncontaminated area of 100 hectares of forest and lakes, the tree nine-hole courses appear as links in front of the majestic Clubhouse, creating a unique and beautiful landscape. The 7th hole on the Pine tree course, called "The Island", has always been considered one of the most impressive holes in Europe. A four star Hotel with annex swimming pool and tennis court, a restaurant with terrace and a bar, complete the offer of this elegant and enchanting Italian Golf Club.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Really enjoyed warm welcome and service, as well as tasty breakfast. It was raining, so couldn't enjoy the course which looked fantastic.

Thank ArseniyGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"robert trent jones"
in 2 reviews
"golf"
in 8 reviews
"fairways"
in 6 reviews
"courses"
in 4 reviews
"holes"
in 5 reviews
"clubhouse"
in 4 reviews
"layout"
in 3 reviews
"hotel"
in 3 reviews
"clubs"
in 3 reviews
"service"
in 2 reviews
"distance"
in 2 reviews
"nines"
in 2 reviews
"area"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Firstly I must say that the layout of the course is good. The general state of the course is not up to par for being a top ranked golf course. The fairways are just up to par and the greens are really good. Tees are not that well taken care of. I would recommend that you play the yellow and blue 9 hole stretches. The reception desk is really not up to par. They are unhelpful and non service minded. I tried to call the manager about it but he was not there at the time. One big issue with Italian golf courses is that the bunkers are bad. Considering the cost of a course like this one crushed marble bunkers I would say is a must. Would I come back again? Yes I would.

The restaurant and staff there are brilliant!

Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMalcotti, Direttore at Golf Club Castelconturbia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks Mr. Raymond for your review. Your advice is very valuable to improve the quality of our services and to make your stay more enjoyable. We are sorry that we have not been satisfied with the reception desk, i was not there at the time but the office had to be available for solve any question by you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This course has an interesting layout, with several of architect Robert Trent Jones's trademarks, such as undulating, two tier greens. A fairly flat course so no need for a buggy. Fairways were in poor condition & you would want to play preferred lies and greens had some bare patches so you would be disappointed if you paid this green fee in England. They have 3 loops of nine, but the course was the busiest of the 3 we played in the area so the first nine was slow, but things improved on the second nine. Bogogno or Iles des Borromees are better options in my opinion.

Thank HertsTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco P, Direttore at Golf Club Castelconturbia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We work every day to give to our customer the best golf experience. This summer we had many maintenance works on the course because we are engaged to improve year by year the course quality.
We want to reach a good standard also in summer season so we had a relevant maintenance planning for the next 3 years that will take us to reach our goals.
Sincerely.
Giovanni Malcotti
Golf Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We just spent 4 days at the hotel and also played 18 holes at the oldest golf course of the region with an incredible history.
The hotel is very decent and in accordance with their prices, the setting is simply beautiful.
Having played 18 holes on this course with my husband we noticed some serious problems with the course maintenance.
Being in the tourism industry myself, I just wanted to point out several things that need to be addressed by the clubs management (urgently).
Firstly: some fairways (and roughs) need a total overhaul! There seems to be a fungus problem which hasn't been addressed in years...
Secondly: we are no big breakfast eaters, but some regular clients seemed to have noticed a severe drop in choice and quality...
Thirdly: The driving range is crap, but to their defense they where replanting the entire area!
On the other hand, a thing I really don't like are people coming in there in heir fancy car and funky sunglasses and perky handbags and as sole comment post a close-up of a fairway or rough and don't even bother to write a comment!
Because it's funny (or rather pathetic) that those "Ferari-drivers" go for the lowest green-fee they can get and then post negative photos of the state of the fairways. The main reason probably is because they didn't hit a ball staight, lololol
So all in all, for a 60€ green-fee in a 100+ hectare domain with approximately no other players and no need to book a starting is is a luxury you will appreciate for sure!

Kind regards
Sophie Bossi

Thank BossiSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franco P, Direttore at Golf Club Castelconturbia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Mrs. Sophie, thank you very much for your review, we are engaged to improve our fairways and roughs quality especially in summer season when the areas went poor due a very hot and sunny days. This year we have produced a very big effort in order to improve our maintenance to resolve this older problems. Our effort is significant and focus in new activities such as fairways deep pucture, sand, new seeds and small irrigation during a day.
All this work will give us a better way to reach our desired standard golf course quality. Hope to have you and your husband once more as customer. Enjoy your golf.
Giovanni Malcotti
Golf manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We started playing the yellow 9 holes first and really enjoyed the course. Returning to the clubhouse, we finished playing the yellow course which is more challenging with the numerous water hazards. The negative point though is that we had to wait longtime towards the end of our game as there were 4 flights playing within a distance of 200m! Definitely, a marshall is missing in this club. Finally, the tee-off boxes aren't well maintained either.

Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golf Club Castelconturbia also viewed

Bogogno, Province of Novara
 
Agrate Conturbia, Province of Novara
Agrate Conturbia, Province of Novara
 

Been to Golf Club Castelconturbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing