We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property. Superb location for walking...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Getaway

The Getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Getaway
Entrance Reception Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Getaway
Entrance
Reception Area
Dining
Fully fitted Kitchen
Living Area
Sleeping Area
Shower room and toilet
Al fresco eating area
Pergola and Patio
Garden
Seating area for guests in the Orchard
The Back Garden
Through the back gate into the fields beyond!
The Pub next door
The South Downs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ringmer, Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueClisso...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent property. Superb location for walking holiday.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Getaway. We had everything we needed. There was central heating for when it was cold one day but we were blessed with warm sunshine for most of our stay. Our dog Pepsii enjoyed meeting Cara and exploring the garden. The kitchen was easy to use and we appreciated being provided with some basic supplies. The property is well located to explore Sussex villages or to walk the South Downs Way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Cara certainly enjoys meeting our doggy guests. Hope to see you and your friends in the future.
Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krhBedfor...
bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We chose to stay at The Getaway as we had booked tickets for an Alfie Boe concert in Brighton. The accommodation more than lived up to expectations right from the moment we arrived. We were warmly greeted by John and Joy (and Cara their lovely little dog), and there were fresh flowers and home-made scones and jam on the table. Although it was the coldest Easter on record, inside the accommodation was lovely and warm. Outside there is a pergola with table and chairs for guests exclusive use in warmer weather. Joy is a professional gardener and it was lovely to look out at the spring flowers. The accommodation has everything you need for an enjoyable break away - very relaxing, reclining chairs, comfortable bed with overhead reading lights, full oven/hob, microwave, washing machine and quality crockery, glasses and kitchen utensils. There were DVDs to play as well as maps and a basket of useful, up to date information about the area. As we enjoy walking it was great to have a public footpath nearby. A bonus was being able to walk to The Cock Inn pub, at the end of the cul de sac, which serves delicious meals and seems very popular with local people. We would thoroughly recommend The Getaway to anyone wanting to stay in the Lewes/Brighton area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_A76
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good value for the money!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Getaway a lot. It's small but very cosy accommodation. The apartment is really well equipped. I would only add a small stereo or CD player. Owners are kind and helpful, there is loads of info about the area provided. Apartment has a good location with many interesting walks nearby. We (well our dog) loved the huge field behind the house. There is also a great pub literally next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemsgrace
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal Getaway for One Person”
Reviewed 17 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Very well-designed and beautifully presented space with quality furniture and furnishings. Fully equipped with everything you need for self catering including lots of information about the local area and activities etc.

This is an ideal base for one person or a couple and is equally suitable for holiday/business/attending a course. The location is very peaceful yet so convenient for accessing so many places in Sussex.

The owners are lovely, they respect your privacy but are always available if required. Not forgetting Cara, the dog, who is just delightful.

I will definitely re-book if I visit this part of the country again and I highly recommend the Getaway to anyone travelling on their own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$56
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing