We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
colpiz

Beautiful campsite

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2018via mobile
This is my first freedom campsite when i was in nz south island. Stayed a night here in end Oct 2018. This place is beutiful and worth staying. The toilets are clean and there are 3 of them. Worth staying and highly recommended.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Inside the tents
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • eDreams
17.4 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
18.0 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
24.3 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Property building
$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
24.9 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
$1,015
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,015
  • Agoda.com
    $903
  • Priceline
26.5 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
49.2 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grandview Suite
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
25.7 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from the balcony
Contact accommodation for availability.
26.7 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
27.8 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.7 km from Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Hawea
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
11
6
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
6
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We got off the beaten path a bit and stayed at this campsite on our road trip. What a pleasant surprise - the grounds were nice with good toilets and sinks (no showers), and the lake was clean, felt wonderful, with excellent views. Incredible rocks for skipping. It was very busy, lots of Kiwis and tourists alike, but everyone quieted down when it was dark, and it was utterly peaceful.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KayVezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Kidds Bush Reserve Campsite is situated right at the edge of Lake Hawea. The surrounding mountains offer stunning views. There are no showers, but the toilets and dishwashing facilities are clean and well maintained. Interestingly we even had pretty good cell reception in between the mountains.
The lake is freezing, but makes for a good wake-up-plunge in the morning.
It was rather windy and the sandflies are vicious. Bring enough repellent!
We paid $8 pp which we thought was a bit pricey, as the facilities were simple and didn’t include showers. Other than that, it would be a 5/5 campsite.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Daydream737069
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

What a place! The mountains, the view just perfect. $8 per adult & that inc proper flushing toilet, BBQ area & fish prep area. We camped right in lakes edge. Great families around us. Thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank creagleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here last week, in two tents. Even though it was raining, it was still a good stay. There were quite a few people there, but not too busy. There are 3 flushing toilets, and there were also some portaloos but we didn't use those. Glass recycling and a rubbish bin are available.

There are two washing up sinks and a sink outside the toilets. No showers though, but the view over the lake is wonderful!

For $8 per person, we were very happy. Consider some sandfly repellent though, and be prepared for the gravelly 6km drive down to the site - but it's not too bad really. Overall, an enjoyable place to pitch!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JenR406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in mid August and was so happy with this campground! For $6p/p with two flushing toilets a shelter if needed it was right on the lake with pristine mountains in the background! When we got there mid week there was not another person in sight! We had the whole place to ourselves! The road to get there was a little off putting but taking it slow we eventually got there just before sunset! Without a cloud in the sky we had wonderful night looking at the stars! Loved the history in the campgrounds and the informative boards in the shelter! Perfect for us and our juicy van!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Nikayllaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews