We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

The Bell lane fryer
Ranked #2 of 7 Quick Bites in Bodmin
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Description: Fish and chip takeaway with 40 seat restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Fish and chip takeaway with 40 seat restaurant
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The chips were properly done, the fish was beautiful and the batter was proper thin and crispy stuff. The service was friendly, and they were willing to help with the menu where the kids were fussy.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent fish and chips. I had haddock and my husband had plaice. Both were large portions and well cooked with crispy batter. Chips were hot and fresh cooked.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Sally-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We had a previous recommendation for the Bell Lane Fryer. We had a 'sit-in' meal and ordered the special deal (fish, chips, a source, tea and bread and butter), which cost less than most chippies charge for just the fish and chips. Quality was excellent. The fish was fresh, the batter crisp, the chips were not greasy. This is fish and chips as it should be.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Traveled from Liskeard and enjoyed the response. UNTIl we asked too double wrap, because of long journey home, received a miserable look, 1st time, put it down to bad night, went there next week, same miserable response, but this time stone cold chips, it looks as if she got the chips from the edge of the serving pan. Enough is enough we go elsewhere in Bodmin now UP the road, bit of a job to park but the wife goes into a completely different response beautiful crispy batter.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We went here on our fist night and had fish and chips - what else. Nice service, good choice and the meal was hot and tasty - It is what it is but highly recommended by me!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Carolinaribera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell lane fryer also viewed

Bodmin, Cornwall
Bodmin, Cornwall
 
Bodmin, Cornwall
Bodmin, Cornwall
 

Been to The Bell lane fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing