We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food 💕”
Review of Golden Temple

Golden Temple
Ranked #27 of 74 Restaurants in Bodmin
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Top of High srstreet
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Some may just walk straight out, glad we didn’t! We got greeted by a lovely woman, unbeknown she’d be serving AND cooking herself! Food was authentic and tasty
It had no airs and graces; get your own drinks out of the fridge, along with glasses, fetch your crockery and cutlery too! It worked though as the food was so tasty

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank CucumberCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We live in Plymouth and had to nip
To Bodmin - with Grandchildren in tow today and came across this restaurant. A very different experience - lay your own table - help yourself to drinks out the fridge and small menu but they are happy to adapt and cook what you fancy - it felt like a home from home and the food was amazing and service so friendly - if you want quick mass produced food go elsewhere - if you want fresh cooked to order with a homely feel this is for you. The grandchildren really lived the food - special mention for the garlic rice - thank you for a lovely dinner

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sharon236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Mr Barrie cooked me the most amazing Hybrid vegetable curry I have ever experienced. Mrs Barry is an wonderful hostess and I can not praise the welcome we received enough. The food is fab, the ambiance fantastic and the cost amazing .

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Jac547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Seriously - you may walk in and think, okay, this is basic and not sure where this is going - but go with the flow - Mr Barri and his wife cook a mean curry - they are generous, kind, genuine and passionate about making sure you leave with a positive experience. You help yourself to drinks from the fridge (all very reasonably priced) and you help yourself to hot plates, knives and forks - just go with it - it's wonderful food. This man is so kind and as his menu board says, if you don't like it, you don't pay - but you will like. Also try his other restaurant in Camelford - Curry & Rice - that's my favourite - it really is like being in someone's living room. Priceless

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

The food was great. A limited menu, but enough choice for most people. All cooked beautifully.
It's a very personal experience and feels in some ways like your eating in the host's home rather than a restaurant.
We were made to feel very welcome and were well looked after.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pamj1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Temple also viewed

 
Bodmin, Cornwall
Bodmin, Cornwall
 
Camelford, Cornwall
 

Been to Golden Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing