We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats not to like”
Review of Borough Arms

Borough Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sited perpendicularly to the main Bodmin to Wadebridge Road, we are approximately 2 miles from Bodmin and 5 miles from Wadebridge. Very much the traditional country pub, no loud music, pool or darts we encourage conversation and interaction between customers. Dog friendly in the bar area, we serve food throughout the pub, from the dining room to the easy chairs by the open fireplace and outside on the patio, the orchard and to the benches by the hedge. Besides a full menu we have several Specials Boards and our famous Carvery.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with friends and dogs for lunchtime meal after walking on nearby Camel Trail. Our friends had been before and recommended a small Carvery meal, which we all had.
Meat lovely and moist, especially Turkey. Great selection of locally sourced vegetables, all well cooked. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dogs can only stay in bar area which is fair enough and there were plenty of well behaved dogs accompanied by their owners, lovely to see. Prices are great and for a Wednesday lunchtime in mid-November the place was busy and had a nice relaxed atmosphere.
Ideally located for the Camel Trail. Would definitely visit again and can highly recommend the Carvery.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shackpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Borough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018

This is a really top rate carvery at the Borough Arms, the selection of meat and vegetables are first class and the Yorkshire puddings are a meal on there own. The atmosphere is just great and it is dog friendly. Highly Recommended first class standard.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johncZ4852NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Borough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted you enjoyed your carvery with us and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent choice of meat and unlimited veg. Desserts were very nice too. St Austell Brewery pub so the ale was top notch as you would expect. Brilliant start / finish point for the Camel Trail.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank S27DAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Borough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us and we do hope you will return very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Went here for a quick evening meal
The staff were lovely and helpful.
The food was just basic and didn't have very much flavor. I have been here before and the food has been lovely.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Borough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

First impressions were good, the staff all friendly and helpful, the food was very good, there should be reduced prices for locals due to the seasonal fluctuations etc...

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank duncanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Borough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borough Arms also viewed

 

Been to Borough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing