We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

The Governor's Hall - Bodmin Jail
Reserve with OpenTable
The Governor's Hall - Bodmin Jail is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t been to Bodmin jail for about 5 years and we were impressed with the improvements in that time.

The attraction is interesting and informative - make sure you read all the information boards as you walk around. A very atmospheric place and the planned improvements will only add to its appeal.

The jail is viewed over 5 levels using a narrow spiral staircase to move between these levels - I could see some congestion causing problems here when busy. We visited on a very warm July day and the drop in temperature as you move towards the lower levels was welcome but if you suffer from the cold bring a jumper!

Well worth the £10 entrance charge for adults.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank T0pCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Bodmin gaol is certainly worth a visit but it is currently undergoing large scale renovation running into millions of pounds with the intention of turning it into a high standard hotel. It currently houses a good restaurant and a shop containing objects related to its history. It is not that long ago that it was used as a prison. It was also used much longer ago to house French prisoners of war.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We had Sunday lunch in the restaurant at the gaol. The setting was interesting and pleasant and the food was the same. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Nice food and reasonable prices, but nothing outstanding. There weren't many people there when we went, but the website advises booking, which is probably a good idea in high season.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

When asked to choose a menu in advance I'd expect some full focus on what is being served. the roasted tomato soup was quite flavourful, the pork loin was overcooked,! tough and lacked flavour with a small scoop of pretty dull gloopy mashed potato , with just 2 thin spears of well overcooked purple sprouting as the accompanying veg.
Come on Guys this is really bad and I'm struggling to see why I first rated this poor, and not terrible.
At least the fruit salad was fresh and well prepared but £25 for this is a rip off frankly speaking

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank nickpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

A very interesting place, but quite expensive with entry at £10 for adults. Friendly staff. Glad we went.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Governor's Hall - Bodmin Jail also viewed

Bodmin, Cornwall
Bodmin, Cornwall
 
Bodmin, Cornwall
Bodmin, Cornwall
 

Been to The Governor's Hall - Bodmin Jail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing