We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
246
23
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
23
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guinness bread rick steves wealth of information place to stay breakfast was delicious fluffy bathrobes b and b freshly squeezed orange juice breakfast table making reservations sea front train station little touches location was perfect irish sea rabbit rooms bay window
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Hargreaves House in March while attending a conference. It was my first visit to Bangor and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience or a more helpful and attentive host in Pauline, who gave us lots of advice about the local area, made lunch and dinner reservations for us and even drove us to the conference venue so that we wouldn’t have to walk in the rain. The rooms were cosy and clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Enjoying the outstanding home cooked breakfast in the dining room overlooking the sea front really was something special and would be just one reason why I hope to return.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Sazzlejay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Wow ..... thank you so much for that lovely review of your stay here in March. You mentioned that it was your first visit to Bangor so lets hope you return soon and we can offer you some more hospitality. You can easily stay here as a base and we can fill your days with plenty of places to visit and things to see.
Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We returned to Hargreaves House for our Annual stay in Bangor and it was just as lovely as the first time! The breakfast is delicious and plentiful, the rooms are warm, spacious and clean and the atmosphere is very relaxed and homely, so good in fact, we've already booked back in for next year

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ezhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hi
It was good to see you again and even better to get your booking fòr next year. So glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you next March.
Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This B&B was recommended by Rick Steves in his Ireland 2018 travel book and we decided to check it out. We were on our way from Dublin to The Giant's Causeway and decided to spend one night close to Belfast and by the beach. Our room was clean, spacious, had coffee and tea, cookies, water, even some fresh fruits. Bathroom was large and nice. Excellent location, right across the road from the beach, walking distance to the town, shops and restaurants. Free parking available on the road in front of the B&B. Delicious breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, cereal, jam, butter, different kinds of breads, coffee, tea and on top of all that you were offered full Irish breakfast prepared to your liking! Pauline and her husband were extremely kind and helpful. He even took us by car to the restaurant where we had dinner reservations because it was a cold night! Pauline is a wealth of information about pretty much anything you can think of! I only regret that we were staying one night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hi
We certainly hope to see you again soon but next time we hope you will stay for longer. Please let us know how you got on at Titanic and Nomadic and also how much you got done up at the Causeway. I wonder if you had enough time to do everything including the Dark Hedges. If not you will just have to come back sooner rather than later....
Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I stayed at Pauline's for the weekend while attending a conference with a friend. The entire experience was excellent. The rooms were large, beds were comfortable and had all the necessary amenities as well as extra little touches. The breakfasts were incredible (fresh fruit, cereals, toast, juice, tea, coffee and a full English)!
Pauline was also extremely helpful recommending places to eat (including making reservations) and booking taxis to and from the airport. To top it off, the location was perfect. Situated right on the seafront and in easy walking distance of everything.
I would definitely recommend Hargreaves House to anyone travelling to Bangor or who wants to stay outside of the city when visiting Belfast. I definitely hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Emily
Thank you for taking the time to comment upon your weekend visit to Hargreaves House. It was a pleasure to meet you and I am so glad you found everything to your liking. We do try to ensure that everything is as perfect as possible and therefore it is nice to find that our efforts make our customers happy. Please do come back whenever you find yourself in Bangor again - we are so centrally positioned from which to visit most of the North of Ireland. I did pass on your favourable comments to the restaurants that you visited.
Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Hargreaves ist der perfekte Ort für einen Aufenthalt in Bangor: ideal gelegen an der Küstenstrasse und nahe von Hafen, Castle and Abbey und perfekt in Bezug auf Frühstück und Hilfe für alles was man sucht (Wegbeschreibung, Information, Check-in).
Für mich gibt es keine andere Unterkunft in Bangor.
Hargreaves is the perfect place for a stay in Bangor: ideally located at the coast, near marine, castle, abbey and perfect as far as breakfast is concerned and help for everything you may need (e.g. informations of all type, check-in etc.)
I definitely do not want to stay at another place in Bangor.
Thank you Pauline.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WS-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hi
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay here. I am glad everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to seeing you again - you mentioned that you might bring your wife for a holiday instead of a working visit. Just let me know and I will help you with any visits you might like to organise.

Pauline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews