We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
traditional outside- all modern comforts inside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
traditional outside- all modern comforts inside
plenty of parking space in front and behind house open plan layout, great for holidays
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
traditional outside- all modern comforts inside
plenty of parking space in front and behind house
open plan layout, great for holidays
bring the outside inside in the sunroom
bright sunroom with stunning views over the ythan valley
plenty of space in the master bedroom
master bedroom with      en-suite
the pheasant - another spacious twin room
picnic table- suitable for morning coffee.....
....or a locally distilled Aberdeen Gin with Tonic
relax in the lovely hot tub spa- robes and bubbly included.
the neighbours look forward to meeting you
view of village of Methlick from the cottage
adventure playground in the village- perfect for keeping the kids happy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ellon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brightsky...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

My family and I had a wonderful 4 night stay. The cottage is in an idyllic location with amazing views, it is very well furnished with everything you would need for your stay and is immaculately maintained.

Sarah & Neil are fantastic hosts always available and will assist in anyway they can. We will all definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Thanks for letting us know you had a great stay with us. Perfect, wonderful, amazing and fantastic - good to hear, we'll try to keep up that standard! Need to come for a week next time.best wishes. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msjlightf...
Crocketford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delightful Location”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Brae Cottage is located on a farm just outside the village of Methlick which offers stunning views over the countryside. The cottage itself is delightfully presented & beautifully renovated. It is well equipped with very comfortable beds, a good selection of towels, full size fridge/freezer & quality cutlery & crockery. There is plenty of storage/wardrobes so no issue hanging your clothes. There is also a washer/dryer although it did have a major leak on our last day!!! The real fire was also most welcome as we did have a few cold days but the cottage was lovely & cosy.This is such a tranquil location yet is within easy reach of several attractions.
We found a wonderful farm shop called Formartines which served delicious food & wonderful coffee it is located on the junction of the B999 and B9170, 1 mile north of Tarves. There is also a nice 15 minute walk into the village to the local pub.I can strongly recommend a stay here we would certainly stay again. Thank you Sarah

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
You are always welcome! Thank you for taking the time to send your review. It's really helpful to know we are on the right track. Sorry about the washer leak- it is all fixed now , thanks for reporting it promptly so we could deal with it. hope to see you back again someday. Best wishes Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soheila20...
2 reviews
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Brae cottage was a very beautiful and clean place , everything you would need for a holiday stay was there. Even more than enough. The view was stunning. Hot tub was great add on. The owner , Sarah was a great and caring person and available anytime we needed help. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Very happy to receive your feedback and delighted you enjoyed the hot tub as this is its first season - we are recent converts ourselves! It's great to know you enjoyed your visit to our area, we hope you will spread the word and perhaps we'll see you again? Thanks for taking the time to post this review.
best wishes
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese...
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Total peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was exactly as portrayed. Lovely rooms, comfy sofas and a fab hot tub. Views fantastic and 15 mins walk down the lane takes you into Methlick. WiFi was excellent and the TVs in the bedrooms a nice touch which the kids liked. Would highly recommend and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking time to give your feedback, this is the kind of review we love to have! Very happy you were pleased with your stay and hope to see you back some day.
Best wishes
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
1 review
“A gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

An absolute gem of a cottage. We spend a great week relaxing, enjoying the tranquility of the setting and the amenities of the cottage. If you want a peaceful, get away from it holiday then this is the place to go. The cottage is well appointed, clean and tidy, with a handy conservatory to relax in and enjoy the great views across the Ythan valley. Sarah (owner) was very welcoming and a great source of local knowledge. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking time to post this review. It really makes a difference to other guests to have this insight into what the cottage has to offer. Of course I absolutely agree! It is great for us too to know you enjoyed your stay so much- we'll look forward to seeing you again sometime. Best wishes. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing