We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful, would highly recommend!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glan-y-Morfa

Beautiful welsh farmhouse overlooking the Dyfi Estuary.  4 star rating with 'Visit Wales'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful welsh farmhouse overlooking the Dyfi Estuary.  4 star rating with 'Visit Wales'.
Set in the hill side, surrounded by stunning countryside Sitting room with wood-burning Jotel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Beautiful welsh farmhouse overlooking the Dyfi Estuary.  4 star rating with 'Visit Wales'.
Set in the hill side, surrounded by stunning countryside
Sitting room with wood-burning Jotel stove
Sitting room has traditional furnishings and is full of charm
The kitchen is the heart of every farmhouse.
We make sure guests have plenty of herbs, spices, pasta.
The kitchen table seats 8 people for breakfast or lunch
Dining room seats 8 people for more formal meals
Natural stone and underfloor heating add a touch of luxury to the downstairs bathroom
Two bathrooms ensure that there are no queues in the morning
Even the stairs has a view!
Double bedroom 1- has a lovely comfy oak bed and antiques
Every bedroom has views over the valley
View from 2nd Double bedroom
2nd Double bedroom is beautifully light and airy
Twin bedroom.  All the linen is supplied and of the highest quality
Twin bedroom with antique desk and plenty of storage
4th bedroom has bunk beds that children love.  Being full size adults could also use this bedroom
Upstairs bathroom has a shower and views over the back garden
Front garden has a garden bench and table for alfresco eating
The chiminea is wonderful on chilly evenings to soak in that view and watch the sun go down
Steps lead to the back garden, which is perfect for badminton or boules (all provided)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emsum8809
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful, would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We visited in August as a group of 9, including 4 adults, 5 children and 1 dog.
The house is so beautiful and the views are just stunning. There are some old outbuildings next to the house which really add character and there are lots of birds which nest in these. Each bedroom has fantastic views which are lovely to wake up to and the only sounds you can hear are birds, cows and sheep!
The house was stocked with a great variety of board games, DVD's and books, as well as all the other usual bits you would expect from a holiday rental. There was also badminton, table football and a dart board. We have stayed in many places and this was the best by far!
We had a toddler with us and a cot and highchair was provided, there was even bowls for the dog.
We had mostly good weather and the nearby Aberdyfi beach was lovely, also there are lots of nice walks with breathtaking scenery. Would recommend a drive through nearby Happy Valley. This house would also be lovely in the winter with the log burner.
It was great that we could take the dog with us but do be aware that you must keep them on a lead in surrounding fields as there is livestock. There are 4 gates to go through to get to the property and these must be shut when you go through, again due to livestock.
I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, it's difficult to put into words how much we all thought of the place but it was just fab!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house and the setting, great views.
Liked least: The gates leading to the property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
We are so glad that you and your family had such a good holiday. We feel the house is very special too, but of course we are biased. But it is lovely when guests enjoy it as much as we do. Being surrounded by farmland is part of what gives the house it's unique atmosphere, but does mean that dogs can't run free in the surrounding fields. We have dogs our self and fortunately there are enclosed woods only two fields away where dogs can be let off the lead to run free. We have made sure that the garden is well fenced and dog proofed. So hopefully that wasn't too much of a problem.
Thank you for you lovely comments and we hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely week”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage is set in absolutely stunning landscape. it is fabulous to open the curtains in the morning and look out on fields and grazing sheep for miles. We had a range of ages in our party (eldest 71 years, youngest 3 years). The eldest member of our party struggled a bit with walking but enjoyed the views and the cottage. The youngest members enjoyed the nature and seeing the new lambs.

During the week we enjoyed crab fishing in Aberdovey, afternoon tea in Dolgellau, horse riding and pony trekking at a farm, King Arthur's labyrinth at Corris, the Centre for Alternative Technology near Machynlleth, and a slate mine visit. The only downside to the holiday was a squirrel scarpering about in the ceiling at night, causing a few nights' disturbed sleep, but apart from that it was fabulous!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Hi so glad that you enjoyed your holiday. It sounds like you packed in a lot over the week and its great to see all the new lambs this time of year. Thanks for letting us know about the squirrel in the roof and sorry if he disturbed your nights sleep. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Glan-y- morfa; a welcoming, cosy, peaceful retreat .”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a lovely time we had, we really enjoyed Glan-y-morfa. The weather was largely atrocious; but it was so great to have such a cosy, welcoming house to escape the rain and the wind!

We just felt at home the minute we walked in and the views were fantastic; something so atmospheric about the marshland. Our children loved watching out for the train going over the bridge and were so excited to actually go on it - simple pleasures. Steam trains, donkey rides, fish and chips, waterfalls, bike rides it felt like a holiday from my childhood in the 70’s!

I honestly cannot think of anything that you could improve on everything worked, the wood-burner was terrific, lovely shower, underfloor heating etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, decor of house lovely, bathrooms great
Liked least: farm gates to get to property a bit of a pain but nothing can do about this
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. The train ride along the coast is brilliant. What a shame that the weather was not better for you.Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam J
Rugby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a truly fantastic cottage, the owners have kept it traditional with lots of beautiful vintage furniture, yet brought it up to date and modern. The decor Is gorgeous and there is absolutely everything you could need ready for you. The large kitchen is idea for all the family to sit and socialise over breakfast, there is a separate dining room and the lounge that has a comfortable sofa and fantastic wood burner. There are beautiful views out of every window, we can't wait to go back in the summer and sit out the front and have a barbecue. On arriving we had a welcome pack (fresh eggs, bread, milk and a bottle of wine) which was a lovely touch. AN absolute treat, thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
We are so glad that you had such a good time. We have tried to keep the house a real home from home and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rules and A Few Problems”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

It was a great stay overall thanks to the chance to spend time with extended family away from our normal hectic schedules. It was slightly impaired by some plumbing issues that plagued the entire three nights stay. These things happen but the list of rules suggests this is more a family home than a rental. Be prepared to respect this, do this and that if you do stay.

The view is compensation enough though and the cottage has been thoughtfully restored and is of a very high standard. Losing water for a while was a hinderance as was having a shower that stopped mid wash leaving me with a beard full of conditioner! Yes, I condition my beard, one of those vanity things I've developed as I get older! Washing it out with the oh so very cold spring water (delicious in a glass but not so good when you've had a rubbishy shower) was not the high point!

Difficult to say if we'd return, I'd certainly love to own such a house and live there despite it's remoteness and lack of communications. Overall I'd say we were just unlucky and if the rules were relaxed just a little it'd be perfect.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: Plumbing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
We really are very sorry that you had plumbing issues during your stay. It’s a nightmare in your own house let alone when you are trying to have a relaxing break. We did everything in our power to resolve this, having a plumber turn up early the morning after you raised the issue of a leak. Unfortunately whilst fixing the leak in the upstairs radiator, the plumber caused an air lock and had to return. And there is nothing worse than a mid shower lack of water! But you didn't let us know that the upstairs shower wasn't working until the last day of your holiday. We can only apologise for this and the airlost has now been fixed. Unfortunately as with any house, old or new, these things do happen so thank you for your understanding.


We are a little more worried by your feedback on the “rules”. We do have a couple of basics like no dogs upstairs, kept off furniture and no smoking in the house. But we had hoped it was pretty much rule free. It is a family home in that we have kept much of the original furniture that my parents have collected over the years and haven’t filled it with cheap “rental” furniture. And all we try and ask is that people respect the house and look after it whilst there. But we certainly don’t want this to stop anyone’s enjoyment. Whilst we do use it ourselves whenever we can, we have renovated it in a way that we hoped guests would like and be able to enjoy, with many home comforts, everything that you might need and also a few luxuries (but none of the clutter that many family homes tend to fill up with over time!)


We would really appreciate it if you could make the time to e-mail us back and explain a little further so that we can re-word anything that was coming across in the wrong way. It is very important to us that guests enjoy their stay and will try to rectify anything that we can to ensure future guests have a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$178
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing