We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Britannia Inn(Aberdovey)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Dovey Inn(Aberdovey)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Penhelig Arms(Aberdovey)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brigydon(Aberdovey)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awel y Mor(Aberdovey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomeoff road parkingbiscuitswithin walking distance of restaurantshighly recommend this guesthouseample breakfastincluding vegetarianshort walk to the beachtrain stationon arrivalroom was cleanslept really wellfantastic holidaypubs and restaurantsdining roomhome madetea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Revisited this fabulous guest house for the 6th year as Mike and Linda always make us feel so welcome. The guest house is in a great location in lovely Aberdovey within walking distance of restaurants and shops and the wonderful Aberdovey beach. Cleanless, comfort, attention to detail and a friendly welcome make our visits so enjoyable and we hope to be returning for many years to come. Thanks for a lovely weekend

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Barbs6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeRandLindaR, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you Barbara for your lovely comments, as always we enjoyed seeing you and the ladies again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

The Welsh Hickory Championships, always played at Aberdovey GC, is the real starting point of the season. We, a group of +6 middle aged guys, always stay at Cartef House for several reasons - 1) Linda & Mike take very, very good care of us with excellent service and support, 2) the breakfast is to kill for, 3) the rooms and 4) it is a 2 min walk to Aberdovey clubhouse.
It cannot get any better!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fackedvin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeRandLindaR, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you Jonas and colleagues, we very much appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

What a wonderful Guest House this is.Hosts Mike and Linda are lovely,welcoming and friendly.The Rooms are excellent Clean and spacious,slept really well.Nothing is to much trouble was able to relax here went home totally refreshed. Breakfast again was great we didn't need to eat for hours afterwards.They provide loads of information about the area.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hopebob279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeRandLindaR, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

As this is our 100th review, we'd just like to say a "heartfelt thank you" to you Bob, and also our thanks to all of you who have been so kind to leave such wonderful reviews over the past few years. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cartref soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Our stay was made all the better by having picked the Cartref Guest House whilst in Aberdovey. From first arrival everything made our stay easier. Off street parking was excellent and allowed us to unload all our luggage direct into the guest house without a lengthy walk from elsewhere.

Our room was light, airy and most importantly clean and well kept. The location was quiet and we could easily have mistaken we were the only guests in the house. Breakfast was a standout at the Cartref using locally sourced fresh produce, of particular note was the bacon!

The guesthouse was ideally placed just outside of the 'busier' main town area but still withing a nice walking distance to pubs/eateries. Also a stones throw away was the nearby beach and golf course.

Our hosts Mike and Linda couldn't do anymore to make our stay more enjoyable and I would gladly return or recommend the Cartef to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of guest house offer best views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

The guest house has spoiled us for all future b & b's. It is steps away from the heart of this castle town. Peter and Sharon welcomed us and were friendly and personable. Peter makes the best scrambled eggs. Full English is available. Newly renovated rooms in lovely colors

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeRandLindaR, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review but we think you have got your Cartref’s mixed up. We are based in Aberdovey which is also a beautiful place and we also make very good breakfasts!

Mike & Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews