We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night out with friends”

The Stanley Jefferson
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Stanley Jefferson Wetherspoon Pub - Named after Stanley Jefferson aka the famous Stan Laurel who lived in the area. Friendly pub, real ales and great food served from 8am to 11pm. Our food menu has a wide range from pub classics, curries, pasta, fish dishes, and a wide vegetarian range. All our food has a 5 star food hygiene rating, and just ask at the bar for an allergen and nutrients guide. There's a beer garden at the rear with seating at the front too during the summer. There's free short stay parking at the front, and a long stay car park at the back of the pub. We have gold award toilets on the upper floor and easy access toilet on the ground floor, with wheelchair access throughout the pub.
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Met up with a large group of friends for a surprise birthday party. Great atmosphere and good welcome from staff. Throughout the evening the staff really made the effort to talk and show good customer care. The food was basic Wetherspoons pub grub but was nether the less hot and tasty. Nice place with a good friendly atmosphere and of course cheap bar prices …. thank you for a nice evening

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Glad you had great time Paul. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2018

We ate here early on a Friday evening prior to visiting Kynren. The place was very busy, and when I ordered the food I was told there would be at least a 45 minute wait. Fair enough - better to be up front about it. Within 5 minutes I realised they had got our order wrong and went back to the barmen to get it corrected. He said he would go to the kitchen and sort it as it couldn't be done on the system. When he returned he said it was already being prepared and couldn't be changed, - I questioned how if there was a 45 minute delay and was told - 'they must have caught up on the orders'. The meal arrived about 10 minutes later and both meals were wrong. When a lady came later to check we informed her of the error and was apologetic but did not offer any form of compensation. I know Wetherspoon's is a cheap and cheerful set up, but I'm sure Tim Martin would not be overjoyed with this level of customer service.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bagabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We went for lunch with a friend . We had burgers which we really enjoyed . Our friend had a jacket potato with cheese and salad . She thoroughly enjoyed it

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 15,021,949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

As regulars to the Stanley Jefferson I’ve got to say that’s tonight’s visit as a bit of a disaster

I had suggested to my wife to give it a miss this Friday as the local show “kynryn” was showing this evening which usually meant it would be very busy and the probability of no free tables for our evening meal

Surprisingly on arrival it was quite quiet but to our amazement there were lots of tables that had not been cleared and quite messy

After a few minutes we luckily found a family moving out so we cleared the table onto another uncleared table so at least we could order our food

First attempt failed as the young lady who tried to serve us could not log onto the till .......and made it very clear to her manager her frustration .....maybe she should have cleared some tables

Our food arrived and mine was ok but my wife’s chicken and avocado salad arrived without the listed balsamic dressing, we mentioned this to the server who trotted off and returned with an alternative salad dressing which didn’t compliment the meal at all so my wife left it along with half of her garlic bread pizza which had burnt edges ......very disappointing

Attention needs to be made to the overall presentation of the eating area including clearing of tables and floor area which was the worst I’ve seen in the Stanley Jefferson which we use as our local eatery each weekend

I would have alerted staff to this if there was anyone available so we just left.....sadly

More attention required if you want continued repeat business

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank stevemusgrove81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Called on here for a bit food and a few drinks and we were pleasantly surprised. Food was okay and the place was nice and clean. Service could of been a touch better but for a weatherspoons it was good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Bertie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stanley Jefferson also viewed

Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to The Stanley Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing