We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

The Stanley Jefferson
Ranked #28 of 112 Restaurants in Bishop Auckland
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Stanley Jefferson Wetherspoon Pub - Named after Stanley Jefferson aka the famous Stan Laurel who lived in the area. Friendly pub, real ales and great food served from 8am to 11pm. Our food menu has a wide range from pub classics, curries, pasta, fish dishes, and a wide vegetarian range. All our food has a 5 star food hygiene rating, and just ask at the bar for an allergen and nutrients guide. There's a beer garden at the rear with seating at the front too during the summer. There's free short stay parking at the front, and a long stay car park at the back of the pub. We have gold award toilets on the upper floor and easy access toilet on the ground floor, with wheelchair access throughout the pub.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Very Friendly bar staff. Fast food. Cheap drinks. Friendly atmosphere. Good for family, Friends or couples... all ages go.

Thank Sarah Balnaves G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Sarah, thanks for your review, glad you had an enjoyable visit and hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Just visited for lunch after doing a food shop. To start the tables were still dirty and the menus were all over the place. Clearly busy with the bad weather and being a Saturday.
But when my partner went up to the bar to order, she waited in a lengthy queue, a manager was serving and shouted at a male member of staff "can you serve please" as he was standing doing nothing.
A female member of staff greeted my partner with "you next" my partner queried the chilli was on the £8.29 2 for 1 meal deal. The member of staff replied with "you mean the chilli con carne, yes it is"
My partner then said "I'll have that twice please, a side order of garlic bread and I'll order two drinks too please"
Then our food was delivered, but it was only one chilli con carne and a side of garlic bread, we queried where the other chilli con carne was and the response we got was "have you got proof, you got your receipt" which stunned the pair of us!
She couldn't find the receipt as she actually found out she hadn't been given it in the first place!
The lady then went to go check the transaction and said they could reopen the account and we would have to pay for the missing meal.
That is simply abysmal customer service as the mistake was not made by us. We were left with one meal and waiting for another and to boot the garlic bread was cold. Then while still waiting for the second dish to come out, the original female server approached our table and blurted "that's ready to pay now" no excuse me or can you settle the balance or we've added that to your bill you can pay after your meals! So my partner went up and paid the balance and we still didn't get any receipt for purchase.
We then had a 3rd waitress deliver the missing chilli dish.
Not once did we ever get an apology at the bar or at the table. We also never got a check back to ensure we had received all our meals and whether the food was OK.
They hadn't even cleared our plates after we had finished eating and this was the case for several of the tables around us as well.
Simply appalling Wetherspoons!

1  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Craig, I apologise for the poor service you received. Being busy is no excuse for any sub-standard experience and would hope that you could give us another chance to show you how we usually operate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Usual Wetherspoons menu and good value prices. Popular place, and staff were busy but they were friendly and helpful. Food was hot, well presented, tasty (small fish and chips for one; tomato soup for the other).

Thank ElaineRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Elaine, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Been a while since eaten here and its still pretty lousy. Im paying the price for the fish n chips. The round was bread was badly defrosted frozen slices. The mushy peas were a pure puddle of green stuff! Chips had a very dark tan and were greasy. Only saving grace was the fish. All on all it looked lost on the plate. Table hadnt wiped or cleared of plates. The menus were covered in spilt drinks and dried on. There were crumpled up napkins on floor round the table. It wasnt even that busy. Come on 'Spoons pull your socks.

Thank alison322002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Alison, I apologise for the poor visit the last time you came, we would hope that you could give us a chance to show you how we usually operate and how we have improved our standards of service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This used to be good for food, however over the last couple of months the food is poor, the fish being undercooked, the batter was still white, bacon and egg sandwich with the bacon burnt to a crisp, bagels that are so hard you could use as a weapon like goldfingers top hat !!. They may have new staff, but some correct training would rectify this. Am going to give food a miss in here as every time I am disappointed. I know you pay for what you get, but even getting a bacon and egg sandwich correct is not difficult.

1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi David, I would like to apologise for the poor quality of food you have received on recent visits. Although we have had new staff this is no excuse for the sub-standard food. We hope that you would give us another chance to show you that we can do things right

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stanley Jefferson also viewed

 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to The Stanley Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing