We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vallue, pleasant staff”

The Stanley Jefferson
Ranked #27 of 111 Restaurants in Bishop Auckland
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Stanley Jefferson Wetherspoon Pub - Named after Stanley Jefferson aka the famous Stan Laurel who lived in the area. Friendly pub, real ales and great food served from 8am to 11pm. Our food menu has a wide range from pub classics, curries, pasta, fish dishes, and a wide vegetarian range. All our food has a 5 star food hygiene rating, and just ask at the bar for an allergen and nutrients guide. There's a beer garden at the rear with seating at the front too during the summer. There's free short stay parking at the front, and a long stay car park at the back of the pub. We have gold award toilets on the upper floor and easy access toilet on the ground floor, with wheelchair access throughout the pub.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Usual Wetherspoons menu and good value prices. Popular place, and staff were busy but they were friendly and helpful. Food was hot, well presented, tasty (small fish and chips for one; tomato soup for the other).

Thank ElaineRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Elaine, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Been a while since eaten here and its still pretty lousy. Im paying the price for the fish n chips. The round was bread was badly defrosted frozen slices. The mushy peas were a pure puddle of green stuff! Chips had a very dark tan and were greasy. Only saving grace was the fish. All on all it looked lost on the plate. Table hadnt wiped or cleared of plates. The menus were covered in spilt drinks and dried on. There were crumpled up napkins on floor round the table. It wasnt even that busy. Come on 'Spoons pull your socks.

Thank alison322002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Alison, I apologise for the poor visit the last time you came, we would hope that you could give us a chance to show you how we usually operate and how we have improved our standards of service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This used to be good for food, however over the last couple of months the food is poor, the fish being undercooked, the batter was still white, bacon and egg sandwich with the bacon burnt to a crisp, bagels that are so hard you could use as a weapon like goldfingers top hat !!. They may have new staff, but some correct training would rectify this. Am going to give food a miss in here as every time I am disappointed. I know you pay for what you get, but even getting a bacon and egg sandwich correct is not difficult.

1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi David, I would like to apologise for the poor quality of food you have received on recent visits. Although we have had new staff this is no excuse for the sub-standard food. We hope that you would give us another chance to show you that we can do things right

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely meal with friends. Price really good. Great choice of food. Service very good. Polite staff. Had a very enjoyable and relaxed evening.

Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, General Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Alice S

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you had a lovely visit and our staff and standards were how we expect them to always be. Looking forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Visited Bishop Auckland and The Stanley Jefferson was just the place for an early morning coffee & a bagel, smack bang in the centre and the added bonus for us oldies was the disabled parking bays immediately outside. We did not try the food but what we saw others having look of very good quality & portion size. Overall a very good visit & we will certainly return in the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ken271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stan j, General Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Ken271

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are pleased you had a lovely visit and standards were how we expect them to always be. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stanley Jefferson also viewed

 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to The Stanley Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing