We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting pub in which to eat”

The Stanley Jefferson
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Stanley Jefferson Wetherspoon Pub - Named after Stanley Jefferson aka the famous Stan Laurel who lived in the area. Friendly pub, real ales and great food served from 8am to 11pm. Our food menu has a wide range from pub classics, curries, pasta, fish dishes, and a wide vegetarian range. All our food has a 5 star food hygiene rating, and just ask at the bar for an allergen and nutrients guide. There's a beer garden at the rear with seating at the front too during the summer. There's free short stay parking at the front, and a long stay car park at the back of the pub. We have gold award toilets on the upper floor and easy access toilet on the ground floor, with wheelchair access throughout the pub.
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The pub is named as Stanley Jefferson was the real name of comedian Stan Laurel who was educated locally before going on to find fame with Oliver Hardy.
The building is in Market Square and gives five views of the smart local buildings and is close to where the Archbishop of Durham has his offices. Outside is an excellent pub sign portraying Stan Laurel and inside a small statue of him and his colleague and an information board detailing his life.
Inside the building is a little bit crowded and it could do with being opened up a bit (if a few walls could be knocked through). There are numerous small room and alcoves, but the carpet and decor goes wells with the wooden panelling around the building and it is tidy.
My hamburger,chips,salad and drink were quickly delivered and tasty good. All considered it comes recommended and the interior photographs on the walls and the material about Stan Laurel enhance this,

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG1509, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Good Evening sabatinitennis,

Thank you for your review of The Stanley Jefferson. We are pleased to hear that you were so interested in the pub and surrounding areas. We hope that this will encourage you to come back and visit again!

Thanks again

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

Visit to Bishop Aukland to see Kyndren event ,needed a meal before show.
We had a good well cooked meal which was served quickly by very pleasant staff on very busy evening.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Service
Thank douglasr495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG1509, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Good afternoon douglasr495,

Thank you for your review for The Stanley Jefferson. We hope you enjoyed the show after your visit with us and we hope to see you again!

Thanks again
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Hi we regularly visit this weatherspoons on a sunday for English breakfasts. We are usually tended to straight away and the service is always excellent. Today however we ordered our three English breakfasts and we're still waiting for them 40 minutes later. On informing staff of this it was acknowledged that there had been a mistake . We had an immediate apology and offered drinks a full refund and a prompt breakfast was brought. Truly an excellent customer service. Most impressed with the way it was dealt with. Will certainly be going back. Staff are most helpful, friendly and nothing is ever a bother, Well done.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank suedev75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG1509, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Good afternoon suedev75,

Thank you for your kind review of The Stanley Jefferson. We can only apologise for the mistake that happened this day. We are extremely pleased to hear that this was dealt with immediately and that you were happy with the outcome of your visit!

We hope to see you again soon

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime for a couple of drinks and left thinking what a strange place. It was quite busy and almost all of the clientele very of an older generation - expecting to be served first, quicker, sooner than other customers, quite odd. Staff were OK although drinks were wrong twice. Placed seemed clean and food looked OK. I won't be hurrying back.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jps73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG1509, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Good afternoon jps73,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologise if you were not served in turn and let you know we do have a lot of staff training regarding this as we are aware some people do not like to wait their turn.

Thanks again
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Having visited the resturant chain before we decided to try the steak night while visiting family.
We were not disappointed.
The steaks were cooked as requested and were quite generous in size.
The accompaniments were adequate and the delivery of the meals was very rapid.
The table was a bit grubby but the place was very busy in spite of the difficulty of finding parking because of the road works going on.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG1509, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Good afternoon Nigel B,

Thank you for your review of the Stanley Jefferson, we are pleased you had an enjoyable meal. We are sorry to hear you had difficulty parking. We are currently trying to find out when the road works will be completed.

Thanks again
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stanley Jefferson also viewed

Bishop Auckland, Durham
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to The Stanley Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing