We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, beautiful and tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plum Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Bishop Auckland, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

joannae90...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unique, beautiful and tranquil ”
Reviewed 4 February 2019 for a stay in January 2019
2
people found this review helpful

On arriving at Plum Tree Cottage we met with the owner Bev who was very pleasant and welcoming. On entering the cottage we could not believe how lucky we were on finding such an immaculate, beautiful, well cared for cottage. Everything inside and outside of the cottage was immaculate and Bev ensured that she had catered for every need. On arrival there was welcome chocolates and wine which was so thoughtful. Top class furnishings, bedding, toiletries made this experience extra special. Not forgetting the outside area which was beautiful and immaculately maintained. Adding to that was a river running alongside the cottage with beautiful lake views beyond. Unforgettable memories were had and we will definitely be returning on many occasions.

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian5206...
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 27 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

This was our first visit to Plum Tree Cottage, but certainly won’t be the last. The cottage is wonderful, immaculately clean and so cosy, the perfect place to relax and unwind. Bev the host is lovely and really made us feel welcome and gave good recommendations on eating out.
It is so peaceful being a detached cottage sitting in a huge landscaped garden and very safe to let the dog explore as it is all securely fenced off.
I can’t recommend Plum Tree cottage enough and can’t wait to stay there again.
Thanks Mark and Bev.

Date of stay: January 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mygolfles...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant cottage and host”
Reviewed 23 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

The title says it all, fabulously clean, well equipped cottage, a wonderful host who cannot do enough for you, countryside walks from your doorstep, excellent recommendations for food nearby - you can't ask for any more!
If you are only having one break this year come here, satisfaction and relaxation guaranteed!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st Class”
Reviewed 19 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

A gorgeous cottage set in its own grounds with the river running below.
Plum tree cottage has everything you would need while on holiday & is so clean! The wood burning stove is fabulous on cold winter nights. We couldn’t have had a better stay & Bev goes out of her way to make sure your stay is perfect....Thank you, we will be back!

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi C
1 review
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018

Wonderful cottage overlooking river. Decorated beautifully and very thoughtfully.
Safe enclosed garden for dogs to enjoy, they had a great time.
The downstairs shower is to die for.
Cannot speak highly enough about this place and cannot wait to visit again

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.