We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
225
228
127
70
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
228
127
70
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearings hotels sea view shearings holiday premier room the hotel manager st catherines meal times the cliff overlooking the beach limited parking public rooms hotel bar excellent position fantastic views car parking plenty of choice multi storey
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Happy Returns!
Yes this is about the sixth time we have visited the hotel. The main reason is its location being built right on the cliffs edge and convenient for the town centre. The big disappointment is the lack of parking facilities. There is a small car park with about 6/7 restricted spaces. These have to be booked well in advance at £8 per day. There is one disabled bay if you are fortunate to find it empty! Otherwise parking is in a row multi storey, 10 minutes walk away at £4 per day during the season. As in most Shearings hotels, a little tlc wouldn't go amiss. Being partially disabled we had room 1 on the ground floor. The views are outstanding from there and we had access to the terrace which was a bonus! The only problem with this was that the floor was littered with cigarette buts and could do with a clean up! The three course meals were excellent and the staff friendly and efficient. Our room was rather cold for the time of year but the housekeeping staff were quick to provide supplementary heating by way of a dimplex radiator and an extra blanket. The wine offer of £15.95 per bottle was good value. The Iron Man competition was being prepared at the end of the week which entailed many parking and access restrictions.

Sent from my iPad

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank grayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the imperial for one night for my nieces first birthday with all the family and wish we had stayed at a different hotel. Was an absolute nightmare. Firstly overcharging us by £68 for the room. Then to waking up after a night of rain to literally puddles in our room. Wall paper peeling off the walls. My parents stayed in a room where they deemed it not even good enough for a dog to stay. Came home then to only find they had charged me £100 for a certain damage to my room which was absolutely obssurd. Still no refund and having to go through coast and country to get it sorted. Overall terrible hotel and would not recommend it what so ever.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank bunceluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Just had a 5 day break here with Shearings & had a lovely time. Ok my room no 38 needs redecorating but for a single it was a good size with a great sea view. It had a bath & shower & was lovely to wrap up in a large bath sheet instead of the small ones in most hotels.
The food was very good - you had the option to upgrade to a la carte for a nominal charge which I did one night. The staff were all very pleasant & smart.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This is our third visit to the hotel
Very good base to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast Path from
Rooms and food very good
Staff are always polite and friendly
If you can find s deal through cheating coast and country even better,
Parking not an issue as a multi-storey
5 mins walk away

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel in February 2018 to stay their over the Bank Holiday weekend last week in August. Two weeks before this date, email arrives from hotel saying the window is broke in hotel room and we would not be allowed to stay. How long does it take to fix a window if they really need customers money?

Granted it was a Bank Holiday weekend so I understand why they couldn't get us another room, however our booking site then offered us for £50 more each a caravan down the road! Granted again that wasnt the hotels fault but having used the excuse of a broken window and seeing other reviews about the conditions of the rooms, we won't be rebooking here sorry. Decided to stay at home and now I don't get a holiday away this year :(

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JonYouens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

We don't like to cancel guests holidays, that is never our intention, unfortunately room you where going in to the window broke, I can only apolgise we had to cancel your holiday.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews