We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
152
92
35
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
92
35
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed sea view no lift town walls caldey island family room tea room sea front south beach jacuzzi bath perfect location cooked to order top floor full english breakfast breakfast was excellent premier room car park
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My wife and I stumbled upon this place by accident and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. We actually stayed in the room featured four poster bed and all. Stunning sea views and wakened up to the sounds of the waves.Would and probably will return to this area and certainly this place. They have a fabulous breakfast and their afternoon tea with Welshcakes.........just Wow!!!

Room Tip: The room my wife and I had could not be bettered.......
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your review. we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Room clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good and was offered top ups all the time. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only down fall was internet coverage poor, where ever you are in Tenby.
Nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruthie1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back another time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The room was very disappointing the paint in the bathroom was flaking off the sides of the bath was bulging out and 1 part had dropped there was tiny black gnat like flies all over the bedroom window. A payment was taken out of our account the day before we went incase we didn't turn up that's was fine except when we arrived we had to pay the full 2 nights stay we told the owner that they had already taken 1 nights payment she said yes but that was incase you didn't arrive and it would be put back into our account we had to wait 5 days before it went into our account
Would I stay there again sorry no !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review and we're sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
When you book online your card is pre-authorised for the amount of the first nights stay, this money is not in our possession, your bank holds it for us should you not turn up, it is a pending transaction (if you check with the bank), rather than complete the transaction we cancel it when the room is paid for in person. It can take the standard three working days for your bank to action this, but should it be a problem, banks will do this quicker if contacted.
The best way to avoid a pre- authorisation is to book direct with us, you can very often get a better rate this way as well.
With regards to the flies, due to our sea front location overlooking South Beach, very occasionally in the summer very small black flies can come in through open windows and congregate at the top of the window, however these are easily removed if you let us know, and aren't a problem for the vast majority of our guests. The bathroom isn't our most modern one, however it is functional and appropriate for our grading and is scheduled to be refurbished this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We recently stayed for a five day holiday in Tenby, We visited No1 The Esplanade for afternoon tea on one occasion and we sat in the window seat with lovely views of the sea with a lovely cup of tea. We returned on another day and had lunch, i would recommend this they do lovely home made cakes too, Peter the owner was very pleasant and they have a lovely place with accommodation too, as we left we spoke to a couple who stayed at the Esplanade for years they thoroughly recommended it, we will definitely return on our next visit to Tenby, Thanks Peter.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 896wendyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for your review we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We found ourselves somewhat unexpectedly seeking accommodation in Tenby, having been rained out of our campsite. From first speaking on the phone with staff at the Esplanade, the welcome was very warm; and when we arrived a couple of hours later, they were very sympathetic, and good with our somewhat over-tired and frenetic child. The room itself had great views, was clean, and well-appointed; like the rest of the hotel, it felt a little old-fashioned, but basically fine. Similarly we all slept well and enjoyed a long breakfast in the morning. For one night, in somewhat challenging circumstances, this hotel was perfect - friendly, welcoming, and offering us a good night's sleep.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews