We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
268
209
93
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
209
93
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view edwards coaches bowls tour grade listed building coach trip coach party wet room bar prices sea front turkey and tinsel breakfast and dinner entertainment every night on arrival beer garden overlooking the beach the cliff caldey island
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

The Clarence Hotel gives all the Olde World Charm, but incorporates all modern amenities within it. It is clean comfortable, and the food is excellent.
The Clarence is very well positioned to the town etc. It is on the front facing the sea, with a tea garden opposite. We look forward to returning

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Where do i begin! we arrived and had a drink outside across the road from the hotel, i must admit it was very pleasant . We then picked the keys up to be told that we were in the apartment block next door. We arrived in our rabbit hutch, and the so called bed was a put you up sofa bed,, the only thing i can say is the view was fab. We did mention it the next day but nothing came back.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Danibat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

The Clarence Hotel is only the letting agent for Carnock Flats and has no control over the management or the décor of the flats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Apart from there being a dog convention and there being 40 odd dogs staying in the hotel Barking alot! And the staff at the desk or whenever booked failed to inform us, and the toilet seat being broken. We (my wife and I) was satisfied with the room, it was very clean another staff was very friendly

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

The dog gathering was an experiment, which was mutually agreed by all that there was just too many dogs at one time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

50 or so of us on a bowls tour of Pembrokeshire. The staff at this hotel looked after us well and each and every one of the looked as though they really wanted to be working there.
Great entertainment too.

Room tip: We had room 101. no sea view or view of anything but quiet and comortable
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. The running of this hotel is a complete team effort from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

As tour organiser, with 9 years experience, for Carshalton Bowling Club I have no hesitation is saying that this tour was one of the easiest to set up, thanks to the Penny's (Hotel Manager) attention to detail and help from first contact to the week before we left.

Pro's & Cons.

Pro's

1. All the staff are friendly, hard working and seem very happy in their work.
2. The cliff top location offers superb views of the beach and Caldey Island. There's a nice seating area across from the hotel for guests only.
3. You are only minutes away from the walled town and its unique shops.
4. The rooms are clean and well serviced.
5. Most of the beers were cheaper than my local social club.
6. We had free WiFi throughout the hotel, and it was fast.
7. The food was good and plentiful. You won't go hungry.
8. We had good entertainment most nights.
9. Reception staff were excellent.
10. Overall excellent value for money.

Cons

1. There is no parking at the hotel, but it is easy to get a weekly ticket (£20) from the local council, online, that allows you access to all Pembrokeshire car parks. Alternatively you can park on a day by day basis.
2. Two of the singers were good but a bit too loud for some of our group.

As you can see we did not think there was much wrong at the Clarence. It is a terrific centre for bowls or similar groups and I would thoroughly recommend it to you.

Room tip: We were in room 104 with a sea view. Very Good.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colinhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Bless you Colin and thank you so much for your lovely review. Hope to see you all again one day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews