We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
551
174
59
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
551
174
59
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room leisure facilities pool and jacuzzi four poster classic room lovely hotel couldn't do enough evening meal quiet area tenby town high standard ground floor cooked to perfection pleasant stay relaxing break would highly recommend this hotel night break
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from three days at this hotel. The rooms were spotless. Amy at Reception could not do enough for us. Breakfast set you up for the day. Will definitely be returning in the near future. Parking was no problem. We took taxi into Tenby just £3.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkerR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived from the Midlands for an Autumn short break at The Heywood Spa. We were met by very pleasant friendly front of house staff which continued with the rest of the hotel staff in both the restaurant & bar area. The location of the hotel is within easy reach of Tenby town centre both by car or foot (although with a hilly climb return preference would be by car). Our room was a ground floor Classic which was spacious, clean & comfortable with a modern interior in both the room & en-suite bathroom. Our first evening was spent dining in at The Heywood Brasserie which is also where breakfast is served...on an evening it had a lovely intimate ambience with table candle lighting etc. The evening meal was excellent & waiting staff were very efficient but without being overly attentive. Although we did not use ourselves, the hotel has a pool, sauna & jacquzzi for staying guests to use. The hotel is managed by Peter & his family who are clearly proud of the achievements made in the four years of ownership. Tenby itself is a lovely town with a myriad of shops, art galleries, cafes & restaurants all within the fortified town walls and the beaches are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Heywood.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lathwoodwsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a 300 mile drive to Tenby, upon arrival we were welcomed by a smiling receptionist who was totally indicative of all the staff we met at Heywood Spa, as indeed was Peter, the owner who was informative about the property and the area.
The classic room was as advertised ( maybe an armchair, eg bucket chair in the spacious room would have enhanced it)
A really good breakfast selection, cooked to order, and a multitude of cereals, fresh fruit, natural yoghurts and superb croissants.
Dinner service was again provided by the most pleasant of staff and the food was excellent.
Parking was no problem (and driving into Tenby town/ beach was preferred to the " hillier" walking alternative)
Sadly the jacuzzi was " under repair" , but the pool, although quite small was nonetheless inviting, the sauna, again small, one bench to seat four, overlooks the pool and an impending refurbishment will make that area even more attractive than now.
A final comment...we had paid for our 4 night stay in advance but the threat of "Storm Callum" meant we decided to leave 24 hours in advance but without me asking, the Hotel refunded our final nights payment..many thanks for that and all round hospitality.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Don't bother staying here if you want excellent customer service. Our stay started off with being shown to the wrong room where a man was standing in his underpants putting his clothes in the wardrobe! When we were shown to the right room the Surprise Package my Husband had ordered wasn't in the room. It took quite a while for the Hotel to rectify the matter. As this was a special occasion....our Honeymoon then you would have thought "the surprise" would have been ready in the room. The Hotel had been told in advance that it was our honeymoon so it somewhat took the shine off things.The room had a very thick layer of dust on the strut going across the bottom of the dressing table but this hadn't been cleaned asapparently it was inaccessible! I saw the dust on the dressing table as I sat on the bed so was quite visible as were the cobwebs on the curtains. It took two days for our empty champagne bottle and glasses to be moved. Perhaps they were inaccessible too!
The welsh dark haired lady on reception was very helpful and friendly unlike some other members of staff.
Luckily the weather was lovely in Tenby that week so made up for our disappointment elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley08092018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nut007, Owner at Heywood Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

As you know, we have already responded to your husbands review ref: 'Never A Second Chance.' As stated in our response, once we'd realised we'd made a mistake, we apologised and tried to put things right and also make amends in a number of other ways but this wasn't good enough for you both. We understand that having just got married you wanted this stay to be perfect so we also understand your frustration. However, we considered your husbands review belittling, very sarcastic and very upsetting for us and some members of the team involved and it is for that reason we do not take too kindly to these type of reviews.

Here at HSH we treat each other, and our guests, with respect and tolerance. There are ways to complain and get your views over without trying to be clever or getting personal. Furthermore, it seems you have gone out of your way to find fault in any way you could!

So, contrary to what happened on that day, our customer service is outstanding and nobody should be deterred from coming to this hotel solely due to an isolated error on our side, for which we have been deeply apologetic about. Weave learned from our mistake and moved on and hopefully you can too.

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a spa break for my sister who is getting married. Afternoon tea lovely However the spa facilities were somewhat lacking!
When we rang down querying bath robes, we were informed this would be an additional, non refundable £8:00!! Something I have never experienced and one which I was not prepared to pay.
On my way to the spa, I was instructed that I could not use my own towel, (which I had brought from home) and was given a towel in reception, somewhat embarrassing!
There were many posters instructing that the use of the spa facilities were for over 18s and the gym for over 21s.
Which was ignored by a father bringing his young son into the pool.
The jacuzzi was, unfortunately, broken something which does happen but I really felt let down with the lack of spa facilities. There wasn’t a Lounge area or seating facilities where you could relax. We couldn’t book treatments as the therapist was off! The sauna wasn’t warm let alone hot.
The breakfast was lovely but I would not return for a relaxing spa break. Sorry.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nut007, Owner at Heywood Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Angela, we are sincerely sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Our leisure suite provides hotel guests with a broad range of facilities not found in any other hotel in Tenby as far as we know; these are provided free of charge. We are also undertaking another major refurbishment this winter in order to bring these facilities up to the very high standards in line with the rest of the hotel.

Also, just to clarify, we provide robes to all guests staying in the Executive and Superior rooms free of charge. Guest staying in our Classic rooms are provided robes free of charge on request. So, if you were a guest staying at the hotel then clearly there has been a mistake made by our Front of House staff. If that is the case, please contact the hotel where we will be pleased reimburse thee costs.

Guest who are visiting the hotel using a leisure pass are charged a nominal non-refundable fee due to the high number of robes that go 'missing' for one reason or another.

Also, there was no reason why couldn't have used your own towel, again there was an obvious communications breakdown between you and our staff, which is very unusual...

The restrictions on use of the facilities are very clear. Children or teenagers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool; this is why you saw a youngster using the pool with his father alongside him and that's what we'd expect.

The Jacuzzi is awaiting a spare part and should be back up and running very soon

Thanks for the feedback - Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews