We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
204
52
19
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
52
19
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room taster menu coach house rooms modern touches laver bread breakfast waitress walk in shower dining room are charming hotel owners and staff main building gorgeous room walk along the beach interior designer peace and quiet stayed two nights portion sizes
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Amazing food, superb breakfasts. Lovely characterful rooms beautifully decorated and all different. Room 3 has wonderful bath and huge new walk in shower. Massive room with sofa, chairs and emperor sized bed! very comfy. Breakfast overlooking the sea. Expensive but magic. No pool or gym but the coast walks are far better way to keep fit here. dogs allowed in some rooms at cost.

Room tip: top floor have roof eves so avoid if tall. Room 3 has superb bath and shower room and is massive and comfy
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights, first trip away on holiday with a puppy.
Hotel so kind and friendly.
Lovely annexe room, seriously lovely,
Wasn't actually going to eat at hotel but when I saw bar and restaurant ...you just couldn't say "no!".
Lovely meal...well done to chef...fish was superb, and service so relaxed. We actually started to reflect when we had had such a memorable meal.
Gothic surroundings, totally peaceful, beautiful village views, short walk to beach.
We will return, there is no doubt about it.
Fully recommend you visit and have a lovely peaceful experience.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank dominicmorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Had a lovely 3 night stay in room 7 which had a large sitting area as well as a very comfortable 6 foot bed. The view of the sea looking over the golf course was stunning. The bathroom which was was down a couple of stairs, had a walk in shower, no bath.
(I could have done with bringing my night light for the stairs). Tea tray in room with fresh milk on request, no fridge though. The food at breakfast and dinner was delicious and well presented. Nice views from the restaurant from most tables. There was enough variety throughout our stay but the menu was the same. Staff all friendly and helpful as others have said. There are nice areas to sit pre dinner etc, and the decor is tasteful. The hotel has 11 rooms and enough car parking for 11 cars but could be tricky if busy, as the spaces are not marked out and parking is random. There is a tight squeeze between a wall and a bulge in the opposite building to get through on arrival. No other available parking nearby when we were there. Wifi worked well in our room but does drop out occasionally for a few seconds.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lignum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We were welcomed and shown to the room by the lovely daughter of the owners. She was very helpful and answered all our questions regarding the hotel or the surrounding area. The room was magical with the four poster bed and the view was amazing. It was very spacious and clean. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was very nice. We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend this Hotel if you are planning a trip to Wales.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Beautifully refurbished this fantastic hotel has the friendliest staff. Our spacious and comfortable room came with a sea view. A short walk takes you to the rocky headland and a lovely walk along the coast with views toward Caldey Island. The breakfast was excellent. On Monday night the chef was off so our meal was cooked by the sous chef, it could not have been better and this from a couple of foodies! Congratulations to everyone at The Penally Abbey Hotel. Get in there quick you're killed in the rush!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SpookyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews