We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
421
79
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent warm welcome power shower helpful owner stayed for one night quiet location excellent stay comfortable room town centre fresh fruit salad very pleasant stay great shower at short notice great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This B&B is like a small familiar hotell with a very friendly and service minded host. We had a very nice room with a view over the hills and the sea. The location is on the hills on the outskirts of the village, but it is a quick walk to get to the harbor via a shortcut. The Walk is nice with views but on the way home you have to stop at some nice bar and have a rest. We had as well a nice breakfast and we recommend this place. It's good value for the money.

Room tip: Book a double Ensuite with Seaview
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatsStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your review of Varley house

It was good to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent location with easy parking. No hassle finding with Google maps. Room was Lovely and comfortable. The view from bed of the hills and ocean were delightful. A very quick walk into the town and harbour. Excellent service and delicious breakfast!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

It was good to meet you both all the way from Tasmania, and glad you enjoyed your 1 night with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Only stayed for one night whilst visiting family, however would thoroughly recommend. Excellent comfortable rooms, great breakfast, and Rod and Helen were fantastic hosts! We’ll be back for another visit

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BenRoberts1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for your great review of Varley House. it was good to meet you both

If you do come back to visit us again, remember to contact us direct to get the best rates, as opposed to using the OTA's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We stopped over here both on our way to and from Lundy. The owners were very helpful, looking after our car while we were away and providing a delicious breakfast. Definitely, excellent value for money.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jwells12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your great review of Varley House.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay either side of Lundy, and by booking direct you managed to get the best rates, rather than going through an OTA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We had a great one night stay at the Varley House. Our room was very clean and well equipped. It was good to be able to park the car off the road. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice. We will definitely be coming back for a longer visit.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizknight63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

By phoning direct you got the best rates, and we were able to understand your special requirements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews