We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
421
79
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
79
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lundy island boer war biscuits breakfast was excellent helpful owner warm welcome quiet location stayed for one night town centre power shower comfortable room at short notice great shower fresh fruit salad enjoyable stay a great place to stay harbour area
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We had a great one night stay at the Varley House. Our room was very clean and well equipped. It was good to be able to park the car off the road. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice. We will definitely be coming back for a longer visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizknight63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley house.

By phoning direct you got the best rates, and we were able to understand your special requirements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Owners are brill and the rooms, facilities and breakfast were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Second time our party have stayed there and will definitely come back. Great place to stay on your way to Lundy Island.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank neville306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

It was good to meet you all. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us before your trip to Lundy island.

It was good to see that you also booked direct which gave you the best rates available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Good place to stay the night before the Lundy Ferry. I had the single room with the bathroom across the hall. nice and clean. Breakfast was served in time to get the the ferry and we could even leave a vehicle there whilst on the island if we needed to. Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarahashurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley House.

It was good to meet you and that we could help in some small way to your enjoyment of Lundy Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My husband and I had an excellent experience during our 2 nights stay at Varley House - one night before and one night after our trip to Lundy Island. We found Rod and Helen to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating - including looking after our car for a week while we were on Lundy. Our room was very comfortable with lovely views and there was a wide choice of breakfast dishes.
All in all, a very good experience and excellent value. Thank you, Rod and Helen.
Sandra & Marvyn Mackay

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you both for your lovely review of Varley house.

We are glad that we were able to help in some small way for your trip to Lundy Island, and that you got the best rates by booking direct

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We stayed two nights at Varley House when visiting Ilfracombe for our granddaughter's birthday. She was on holiday in the area.
What a nice place to stay. Our welcome was good and the room was a good size, well equipped and spotlessly clean like the rest of the property. There were lots of small touches in the room and elsewhere to make a stay even better. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.
I can only add that I would recommend Varley House wholeheartedly.
I

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jollyoldroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varley13, Owner at Varley House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Varley House.


It was good to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews