We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
125
95
75
37
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
95
75
37
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour view lord nelson room four poster free upgrade served hot tea and coffee out of season stayed one night twin room quay dog seagulls devon pubs
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We arrived late (just before 11pm) at the Britannia. It was a difficult walk with our cases to the harbour area. And we were tired and hungry. So it was disappointing to see that the place was shut-up, unlit and looked deserted. We knocked at one of the doors and, luckily, someone let us in.

We were asked how many beds we wanted. We said we had booked a twin room. We were asked again how many beds that would be? We said, one each. We confirmed we didn’t want two rooms, though. Just the one. Because there seemed to be some confusion. We asked if we could get a drink, and the lady who seeemd to be ‘checking us in’ (there is no reception area and she did not introduce herself) said she would pour us a drink to take up to our room. We were very happy about that! But she did not mention breakfast. Nor did she offer us any food after our long trip. She didn’t get help to take our luggage up the winding stairs. And she ‘mucked up’ the bill too, so she ‘had to’ do a refund on our credit card.

Our room (up lots of stairs) smelt wonderfully pinewoody. It was very large. With two double beds. We just used the one! The shower room was undeniably compact though! With just enough room to squeeze in-and-out of the cubicle. There was a double-page list of rules left for us to digest and comply with. The rulebook included a long list of fines... These included, for example, a fine for taking TV remote batteries! There were also special rules for using the micro-bathroom. (And I am talking here way beyond the kind of sensible rules you would normally see in a hotel.) It became clear that the Britannia views their ‘guests’ as unwelcome visitors in a nicely run home. The Royal Britannia is certainly not a hotel (it’s not even an Inn.) It’s a family run B&B — but without the luxury of breakfast.

At £75 a night it is too much. So we wouldn’t choose this bed-only accommodation again. But it might be a different place during high-season.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be up a maze of wooden stairs. We thought we would get a sea view (but we didn't)
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilmach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
np1257315, Front Office Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

We are sorry the hear that you had some problems
Firstly you checked in after our closing time therefore the reception was closed and the bar was closed
Lady specially opened the bar for you and served you drinks and if you asked her she would have cooked food for you as she is a kind person
Introductions happen sometimes and they may not happen other times as on a busy day we may have hundreds of people pass through and it’s hard to remember individual guests
As for asking you twice about the two beds, she was just being helpful as some couples book a twin room and once they see the two beds they ask for a big bed, the lady was just trying to give to you a free upgrade to a four-poster sea view room if you wanted a big bed
When you booked the room you didn’t book breakfast therefore there was no point talking about breakfast and you were holding all this information with regards to breakfast in your hands when you went up
We always carry cases for frail or elderly people but we don’t have servants for strong and fit people as we are a hotel and nor servant providers.
Lady checked you in after closing time served you drinks after bar closing time, most guests would have been happy with that so we are sorry that you were expecting something we cannot provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Central location for all amenities. Well stocked bar. Friendly staff and very clean.
Wonderful view of the harbour. Ilfracombe is well worth a visit particularly to see the beautiful Damien Hirst statue of Verity.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkbrown61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We recently stayed at the hotel, on arrival we had a very warm welcome from Yan and Richard. Our room had a stunning view overlooking the harbour. It was very clean and was decorated beautifully.

The hotel has such a rich history and Yan and Richard have lovingly restored it and Ilfracombe is better because of it. It is located just by the beach in the harbour, so is a great place to explore Ilfracombe from. It's not isolated and you feel you really are in the heart of the town.

We had the Sunday Roast, which was delicious, and well worth trying. It really is the best hotel in Ilfracombe.

Room Tip: Try and book a harbour view room as its absolutely stunning
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lmcc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure to stay at the RB before and after visiting Lundy Island.

Iffracombe is a lovely seaside town and the RB can by found tucked in the harbour front which was very convenient for my boat journey.

On my first night I had a very neat twin room with its on shower/toilet. Best of all was the view over looking the harbour. The most splendid sunrise ever. Good selection of teas and coffee provided in the room.

On my second stay after a weeks hard work on a National Trust holiday on Lundy Island. I'd requested a room with a bath. And thanks so much to the management for acknowledging my request they provided me with a suite with a spa bath, large double bed and sofa area, at no extra cost.

Breakfast both mornings was very filling with selection of cereals, juice, full English with toast and coffee. I can't comment on evening meals but I did have a couple of drinks in the very traditional pub downstairs.
I found all the the staff to be friendly and polite even carrying my bag up to my room.
It's not the Ritz but I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank HappyHoildays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This was our first visit to Ilfracombe, Devon - what a lovely town. There is such a great ambiance, everyone was friendly and it was a perfect weekend break.
We stayed at the Royal Britannia which was next to the working harbour and provided a lovely view from our room.
The hotel was friendly, our room was spacious and very clean. The proprietors Richard and Yan were always at hand to help and ensure that our stay was pleasant and problem free. The all-English breakfast was good too and really set us up for the day.
Next to the hotel is 'The Dragon's Nest' Restaurant which serves the most brilliant authentic Chinese food is highly recommended too.
We have found a real gem in Ilfracombe and a great hotel in the Royal Britannia from which to explore. We cannot wait to return. Andrew & Jan - Wiltshire

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view room
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew-Tidworth-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews