We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to discover the Scottish Highlands”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sundowner Cottage

Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Private deck looking over the tree lined garden Spacious, open plan kitchen and dining room with high beamed ceiling.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Private deck looking over the tree lined garden
Spacious, open plan kitchen and dining room with high beamed ceiling.
Living room opening out through patio doors to the deck
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Main Bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Private parking next to cottage
Large tree lined garden
Large tree lined garden with seating areas
View of courtyard garden from kitchen
Table tennis room
Ruthven Barracks (adjacent) is floodlit at night
RSPB Bird Reserve just l mile away
Tromie River just l mile away for paddling and swimming
Entrance drive.  Quiet and scenic, set in 2 acres
Highland Cattle at the entrance driveway with Ruthven Castle behind
Polar bears at the Highland Wildlife Park just 4 miles
Kingussie just a 14 minute walk to shops and restaurants, golf 2 miles
Loch Morlich with the Cairngorms behind, just 20 minutes drive
Ptarmigan restaurant Cairngorm Mountain, winter skiing summer walking and funicular railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thierry S
1 review
“A perfect place to discover the Scottish Highlands”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

For a first visit of Scotland we were lucky to find the Sundowner Cottage.

After a night on the ferry (Zeebrugge-Hull) and a 6-hour car trip (Hull-Kingussie), we reached the magnificent landscape of Cairngorms: already a taste of holiday... Last mile: we can appreciate the view on the stunning "Ruthven Barracks", just next to our final destination.

The cottage is pretty and comfortable, it seems to be brand new. There is a large garden with lovely bird feeding cages. And tennis table for the kids, extremely useful for the rainy afternoons!

The region is perfect for walking and running, our favourite activities during the holidays. A lot of circuits are possible directly from the cottage (not necessary to take the car).

Last but not least, the owners offer a warm welcome and a lot of useful advices. You can see they fell in love with the Cairngorms region, and they transmit their passion to the visitors.

If we come back to the Cairngorms, we know where to go!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you Thierry for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday here and the long trip was worthwhile. It was a pleasure having your family here and we hope we will see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyA133...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay at Sundowner Cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Ideal location to explore the Cairngorms and surrounding area......on bike, foot or car. Cottage is perfect in every way, even having your own little private area to sit out and watch the wildlife. Wonderful to come back to after a long day on the mountains, as it's so homely. Excellent hosts in Judy and Jules, so friendly but not obtrusive at all. I would definitely return and cannot rate Sundowner highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, Wendy. We are really glad you enjoyed yourselves. You have inspired us to get up more of these fabulous hills!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drappel F
2 reviews
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a lovely week staying in Sundowner Cottage!
The cottage was a real home from home and nice to come back to after our days out.
The boys enjoyed the table tennis, and Judy and Jules made us all very welcome.
Lots to do in the area, Strathspey Railway, Balmoral, Cairngorms, and brilliant mountain biking at Laggan Wolftrax!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thanks for the great review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed the place and hope we will see you all again soon. If you bring your bike, we will show you some of the superb natural singletrack round here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cox05
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great self catering cottage. Clean,warm, furnished to a high standard. Friendly hosts. Perfect location -plenty to do in this area and the hosts provided good tips. We were out and about every day cycling, walking,zip wiring,visiting wildlife park. But it was always a pleasure to return to the cottage. Brilliant Easter break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
Many thanks for your great review - we are really pleased that you enjoyed the area and the cottage. We seem to still be finding new activities and bike rides to recommend in the area, so do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
2 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just spent a brilliant week in the Sundowner cottage.Everthing about it was perfect. Clean, warm, very high standard throughout. Very good location for exploring the area. Judy was such good fun. We wish her and her husband all the best in their new venture. I'm sure it will be a great success.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thank you Karen for the great review. We are so pleased to hear that your liked the cottage and enjoyed yourselves even without your car during the snowy days! It was great meeting you both and we hope to welcome you back before long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing